I hate street-racers but I had to give one a ride

Clint Rauscher
Rideshare Stories
Published in
2 min readDec 20, 2022
Photo by Lucas Ludwig on Unsplash

This week, I picked up a young man at a Papa Johns. He gets in and I ask, “How is your day going?” He says it was going very badly, that he just got pulled over and his car confiscated. He claimed he was racially profiled and was being harassed by the police. I said that I was sorry about that and I hoped he could get it all straightened out… although my opinion would shortly change.

Well, he proceeds to tell me that he was pulled over for his taillights not working. I said that that should have resulted in a warning, especially since it had only just gotten dark. He then says, “Exactly, that is what happened the other two times I was pulled over this week.” Ok… sympathy drops a notch.

Then he gets a phone call and is telling his girlfriend what happened. Then he says.. “Yeah, it was the Charger, so tell _______ that we can’t go out and race tonight…. no, they did not find the guns. I hope they don’t search it once it gets to the impound lot. I will go pick it up tomorrow. When I get it back, I am going to go straight to the Dekalb Police station and do f — king donuts out front.” Ok… sympathy 100% gone… Good job police, but you should have searched his car and arrested him! I did not say any of this to him. Just dropped him off and headed on.

Quick Rant: Street-racers put everyone in danger. They know good and well that their “hobby” is dangerous to others and they do it anyway. Their behavior is asocial deserves to be punished to the full extent of the law. Here in Atlanta, they are all over the place, driving up super fast behind you, swinging around you, cutting you off.. and leaving accidents in their wake. They suck!

--

--

Clint Rauscher
Rideshare Stories

Please click follow, if you like these articles. Uber driver, tango teacher, blogger, etc. Uber Referral Link: h1u313krg1pw Lyft Referral code: ARTHUR28323