Finding Motivation (Narrative/Memoir)

Riley Cornell
Riley Cornell
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2021

Have you ever written a paper at 11:45 due a midnight even though you had plenty of time to complete it and you kept putting off until it was inevitable or do you constantly think about a goal or hobby you want to start but never do? You are not alone if you have ever done this. Motivation is one of the most, if not the most important factor in people’s lives. A lot of times when I find myself sitting on my phone for extended periods of time I think about how much time I am wasting and how I could be doing other things that could actually benefit my wellbeing. Motivation is really interesting to me because it’s different for everyone. Everyone is motivated by different things and in different ways. For instance when I am sitting on my phone I think about all the other things other people are doing and achieving in their lives and it motivates me to want to do the same. I also get motivated by thinking about how amazing this life is and how lucky I am with the opportunities that I have been given. Do I really want to waste hours of it on my phone? Another way I have reduced my phone time (which I feel is the biggest waste of time) is by reading instead of mindlessly scrolling through Instagram. I normally find myself on Social media when I am tired and bored. So I decided reading is a better option that can actually benefit my overall health and mind. Some reasons I have found people get unmotivated is they forget the rewards of hard work, set unrealistic goals, do not seize opportunities, they are unwilling to work harder, or they blame others for their shortcomings. I think the best way to find motivation is to find your own personal goals and discover what motivates you to achieve them.

--

--