The Bleeding Girl

Sourya Reddy
Ripple Effect
Published in
1 min readJul 15, 2016

--

Filmmakers: Gia Singh Arora & Aarya Mehta

The Bleeding Girl highlights the taboo of menstruation that exists in Indian society. Through the voice of menstruating women, the film looks at society’s deep-rooted mindset towards these women. In the words of the filmmaker:

“Growing up, on numerous occasions I said, ‘I wish I was a boy’ so I didn’t have to worry about bearing a child, deal with the changes my body goes through and simultaneously be shunned by society for it. I primarily wished so to get away from those 4 days of utter misery that I went through every month. I dreaded it every single time, knowing very well that my blood disgusted not only the community I was surrounded by, but disgusted me. I wished periods never existed.

You want me to bleed, to bear a child, yet you want to put me down for it, disown me for those 4 days, and want me to be okay with it?”

--

--