Back to My Journal Again

Mindy F.
My Sober Ashes
Published in
1 min readJul 27, 2019

--

I’m going back to my journal again. I can’t remember the last time I wrote consecutively in my journal, but I can tell you, it’s been a while. How can I tell? Well, the other night I ended my journal entry with, “Fuck my life”. Hmmm, yep. That’s a red flag for me.

That icky gunk place is where I go when I don’t get things out of my head. When I reach the, “fuck my life” stage, I know I’m in trouble. But that’s why I love journaling. I get all that icky gunk out of my head so I can process things better. It’s like talking things out with a trusted friend, except this friend doesn’t talk back.

Another reason I love journaling is, I can read through previous entries to see my growth. It’s satisfying looking back at those past entries. I can read about heavy stuff I went through and say, “wow. I grew so much from that experience”.

These are only two of the many reasons why journaling is my number one recommendation. Get the gunk out so the thoughts don’t grow into monsters.

Here’s to getting the gunk out.

Mindy

Originally published at https://www.mysoberashes.com on July 27, 2019.

--

--

Mindy F.
My Sober Ashes

I don’t have all the answers, but I try to bring the light