The Purpose of Rising To Be & Why I Created This Blog

Christina B. Rising
Rising To Be
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2019

At the end of every year, people often think of what they want to change in their life. They want to change things like the way they save money, weight loss and reduce stress. So I Christina B. Rising, decided that I would read 52 books in 52 weeks. The reason I chose to do this was that I found a startling statistic online that the average person often reads 4 books within a year, but a CEO often reads around 60 books in a year. This motivated me because I may not want to be a CEO but I don’t want to an average person in life. So in honor of ‘National Read A Book Day’ for my 1st blog on “Rising To Be”, I will discuss 3 reasons why this resolution is impacting my life as I rise to become who I want to be.

Reading for Riches

Books & reading can not just enlighten your imagination but they can also offer you advise in a bad situation. From reading books like autobiographies you can often feel like you are personally being mentored by that author. Books from these authors can also help to guide your career. They can also help to steer your finances in the right direction before people said there’s an app for that people would say there is a book for that.

Ways To Fit It In Your Schedule

Midterms caused me to get away from my goal but I still plan to make up these books in some way like during the summer. On days where I can listen to an audiobook while in traffic, cooking, doing my hair and before I go to sleep. In fact, I get most of my Audiobooks from using a free library app with unlimited books instead of having an Audible account with one book a month. I chose to delete my Instagram app, to add more time for reading, I instead schedule my posts so I don’t continuously scroll the night away.

Types Of Books To Enrich Your Life

When choosing what books to read, I often gravitate toward self-help, language, skills and something that can add value into my life. I never choose a popular book because I don’t want to get caught up in all the hype and believing a book is great just because it was on the New York Times Best Sellers List. I enjoy any book that speaks to me when I flip it over and read the synopsis, instead of judging a book by its cover or author.

As more people, I knew asked me about my resolution I felt like I should tell more people about how this has changed my life and the books I loved along the way. And so I will leave you with this quote “Being around others at or above your level takes you higher”, when I read books I feel like the author is personally mentoring me.

If you have any book suggestions let me know in the comments, and look out for new book reviews every Sunday.

--

--

Christina B. Rising
Rising To Be

Helping you rise to be productive, organized and productive! Keep Rising To Be Who You Want To Be!