On the Move

Many have asked if I am excited, nervous or having second thoughts these past couple of weeks as leaving home got nearer. In all honesty the fast pace of all the requirements needing done, finishing personal business, work and moving my office back to Springfield, and then sorting, organizing, packing and cleaning my house and getting it rented left not a minute of down time to rethink this decision. Mostly I have remained calm inside. I believe there is a future plan I may not see clearly now that will require me to stretch and grow as a person and a professional. I could stay comfortable in my world but then think of what I might do and how good change can be by stepping outside the norm both for myself and others. Whether the calm is due to just not thinking about the change ahead or that I know I’ve made it before through difficult times of change and know where my strength comes from I’m not sure.

Responses by others have been shock, amazement, curiosity, thanking me (the ATT agent cancelling my uverse:) and a few who truly know me who were not surprised. Those who have known me know I’ve embraced some difficult life circumstances and grown as a person. I look back at these times without regret as these times have changed who I am and what I value. So this new path is not so different… it will require similar character growth, trust, humility, feeling less than competent but I am comfortable with the upcoming change.

Leaving things behind

Getting my head around packing up my life, work, and home yet not really moving but storing my possessions in the house was interesting. I was somewhat irritated that I cleaned and fixed things not for myself but for others renting the house so all my hard work I would not enjoy. Giving up my house of 22 years and making my home ready for someone else gave me some sadness as this is where I have lived the longest and have many good memories. I wondered as I looked at a 4 bedroom home, a basement and garage full of things that needed packed and stored… what will I think of these things when I return. I wonder if the experience of the upcoming year will change not just myself but how I view home, comfort, material possessions, people, nursing, my work and aspirations, and a world I do not yet know.

My best plan of getting all business taken care of and the cleaning, organizing and packing of the house done and having a day to pack what I was taking to Africa did not occur. Even with many helping me I did an all-nighter before I left finishing the last things and packing what I think I’ll need for a year.

So I flew out of Springfield July 10th exhausted from having no sleep. Thoughts were if I just make it to Washington DC, to the hotel then I would just have to show up Monday morning which will be so much easier and enjoyable than the last month.

Things are just the one thing I am leaving behind. People that mean something to me are also what I leave behind. Family, friends, my church, and colleagues. The hardest was not being with my daughter who had gallbladder surgery July 12th in Michigan. My sister went instead so I know she is in good hands and I know Trina is glad for my opportunity. Hoping both of my children will get to visit at some point during the year once I find out the school schedule. When I think of missing people I believe that I will be making new memories with new people in different places.

New Beginnings

So today I am thankful the packing and moving is over and the more interesting start of a fast paced “orientation” in DC started July 11th . The new beginning started by meeting amazing staff from the Peace Corps and Seed Global Health and 5 representatives from the African countries, as well as others in this 4th cohort of GHSP volunteers. The pictures above are the father of Global Seed Health CEO Vanessa Kerry, MD. She gave him credit for instilling in her the importance of public service. The Secretary of State had not been able to share in his daughter’s progress in the past due to conflicts of interest but was able to come today to see the largest group of GHSP volunteers leaving in 2016.

Though I thought I knew about the GHSP organization and the partnership, I did not realize that this is the first partnership the Peace Corps has had with a not-for profit since the Peace Corps began in 1961. The staff for this specific program have done an amazing job getting all the logistics done for the 59 volunteers. This is twice the size of the past 3 years of volunteers who total 105. This year the 59 doctors, nurses and midwives will be in 29 sites across 5 countries up from 17 site eductional institutions the past 3 years. The past 3 years the volunteers have taught in 344 courses 9,556 African

professionals. Some have chosen to return for a second year. So I am humbled as I get to know amazing health professionals with a range of age, education, skills, and experience both in the U.S and Internationally. We introduced ourselves by telling one interesting thing we packed and why we wanted to be a part of this program. The reasons varied but came down to wanting to make a lasting difference through health care education that has sustainability for years to come in these 5 countries.

So for the next week I will continue to show up to orientation and learn about the organizations and programs of the Peace Corps, Seed Global Health, and other International Organizations, the flavor and needs of faculty and students in Africa, best teaching practices, future responsibilities, and resources and the other 58 volunteers.

Disclaimer: This is a personal weblog. The thoughts and opinions here are those of Jennie Van Schyndel. The information does not in any way represent or reflect the opinions of the Peace Corps or Global Seed Health.

--

--