Glen Canyon Loses a Friend

Glen Canyon Institute
River Talk
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2024

A tribute to Jim Stiles by Rich Ingebretsen

I would read the Canyon County Zephyr every time I was in Moab back in the day. The stories were fascinating and embedded within the pages, there was that extra something that made you want to fight for the red rock country that seemed always to be in peril. I first met the amazing man that started it when Glen Canyon Institute was new. I was speaking in Moab and Jim Stiles came up to me afterwards to introduce himself. That was the beginning of more than a two-decade long friendship.

But the most wonderful moment came on a cold day in February. Lake Powel was falling fast, and we knew that after 50 years of inundation, the iconic Cathedral in the Desert was going to come out of water. History was about to be made. We planned the trip so that we would be the first ones to walk into that spectacular place. Slowly, we edged to the opening and rounded the corner to see the waterfall and the cathedral-like desert varnish reaching to the sky. We cheered. Jim and I stepped off the boat together and walked over to the famous waterfall. Our friendship bonded at that moment.

Jim Stiles and GCI in Cathedral in the Desert, February 2005

The last number of issues of the Zephyr were devoted to Hite Ferry and Glen Canyon and the canyon country that he loved. I was so fascinated with the history and images that he gave to us. I was waiting for the next edition. It did not come.

When I heard of his death I stopped in my tracks. I stared off in the distance and had a feeling of great sorrow. I had just communicated with him several weeks before about Glen Canyon. It was hard to believe he was gone. I guess the thought that makes his passing more bearable to me is that he could possibly be walking in a red rock canyon with his dear friend Edward Abbey, enjoying the sun, the wind, the canyons, and each other. I will miss you, Jim. We will miss you. Glen Canyon will miss you.

Richard Ingebretsen

President/Founder

Glen Canyon Institute

March 2024

--

--