The front counter at Paris Baguette (photos by Shelby Jennings)

Hitting the Sweet Spot in Sacramento

A Sac State student’s journey to discover the most delicious desserts in the city.

Published in
6 min readDec 14, 2017

--

by Shelby Jennings

Strolling through the lively heart of Midtown, tasting the fresh and delicious foods from the passionate restaurateurs is a genuinely satisfying way to acquaint yourself to the Capital city. I recently moved here from San Francisco, and I thought one of the most delicious ways to acquaint myself with the area would be to find the best, most affordable desserts in the city. I consider myself a foodie, but I really think that desserts are the best part of any meal. I have spent some time traveling across Western civilization, seeking out the most amazing desserts I could find along the way, and learning as many recipes as I could to find out what makes a dessert truly special. Sacramento, as it turns out, has some pretty amazing places to go with incredible sweets to try. So, here are my top picks for the sweetest spots in the city.

Empress Tavern

Although it’s slightly higher up on the price range, the standout feature here is the dessert cart, where you can build your own dessert in front of you. Jessica Rine, a reporter at Sactown Magazine, recommended Empress to me, and after tasting it I knew I would have to come back. I ordered an apple cider glazed donut, and as I watched the server sprinkle powdered sugar, I could smell the apple cinnamon cloud that filled the air over our table. When I bit in the flavor of the apple was so intense that it practically burst in your mouth. The donut is not overpoweringly sweet, either. The powdered sugar on top helps enhance the sweetness, but the savory apple and cinnamon flavor keeps it balanced. On a chilly autumn date night, Empress definitely hits the spot. 1013 K Street. (916) 662–7694. www.empresstavern.com.

Red Velvet cupcake from Selland’s

Selland’s Market Café

Stepping into this cafe is like stepping into your own little slice of heaven. There is a lovely smell in the air of bread baking, the savory scent of a restaurant at lunchtime. It’s fun to take in the atmosphere of the charming dining area, but what really draws you in is the wide variety of baked goodies they display to satisfy your sweet tooth. Although I was tempted to buy everything from their signature salted caramel and pecan brownie to their cinnamon snickerdoodles, I decided to try a slice of carrot cake, as it seemed so fitting with the autumn chill in the air. Piled with a tart cream cheese frosting and loaded with walnuts, the cake is light and fluffy and sweet, perfectly complemented with a hot cup of chai tea. All of the cakes here are soft and moist, and if carrot cake isn’t really your style, I also recommend the red velvet. It’s rich, and the frosting melts your troubles away; I love to take a cupcake home to enjoy with Champagne later. It’s a perfectly seasonal way to treat yourself. 5340 H Street. (916) 736–3333. www.sellands.com.

Vic’s Ice Cream

This vintage ice cream parlor has been a staple in the Land Park area for decades now, and it’s easy to see why. I went once on a weekday around noon to taste their legendary ice cream, but was surprised that it also served as a tiny little diner. The line for a table was out the door, but I was there for the ice cream. I went with my neighbor and fellow Sac State student Jess Long, since she has lived in Sacramento her whole life and she assured me it was the best around. On my first visit, I was blown away by the creamy richness of the Muddy Mocha. It was a dark espresso-colored ice cream with a marble of chocolate running through it, giving it a very attractive swirl. I could taste the mocha flavor and the chocolate flavors separately, giving each bite its own distinct essence. Some bites had that bittersweet espresso flavor, other bites were distinctively chocolatey. I could definitely see how Vic’s had earned their loyal fan base. “I don’t know, I just love Vic’s.” said Long, “I’ve been going there forever, my mom always took me. I love the chocolate sauce! It’s gooey, rich and the sundaes are just covered.” I have to agree — that after tasting their Muddy Mocha ice cream, I love Vic’s too. 3199 Riverside Blvd. (916) 448–0892. vicsicecream.com.

The “Strawberry Harmonica” from Paris Baguette

Paris Baguette

This is a patisserie that really lives up to its name. As soon as I walk in, I can smell the butter and sugar in the air, and I can’t help but relive the weekend I spent in Paris, France. You can shop through rows of fresh baked tarts and pastries, and fill up a box of whatever catches your eye. I love the Strawberry Harmonica, a sweet roll filled with fresh strawberries and topped with cream custard and powdered sugar. If you aren’t in a strawberry mood, I would suggest going for the chocolate almond pastry, a buttery croissant filled with almond cream and topped with chocolate sauce and sliced almonds. The flavors cascade together in a sugary swirl and as delicious as the chocolate is, the highlight is really the almond cream! It tastes fresh and sweet, and if you close your eyes you would think you’re in a cafe on the Champs-Elysees. All the pastries (except the imported macarons) are baked fresh on location, and you just have to taste the pastries to appreciate the difference that makes. 1229 Howe Avenue. (916)925–5006. www.parisbaguette.com.

Gunther’s Mocha Almond Fudge ice cream cone

Gunther’s Ice Cream Shop

Jessica Rine told me that as long as Vic’s and Gunther’s have been open, there has been an unspoken rivalry between them. “They’ve both been here forever,” she said. “And you either grow up in Sacramento eating Vic’s Ice Cream, or you grow up eating Gunther’s. You eat one of those two, and you’re a lifer, and you don’t cheat on the other one.” And as I relish my scoop of Gunther’s Pineapple Coconut ice cream, I’m convinced that I could stay in this shop forever. While I couldn’t imagine having to choose sides in this rivalry, I have to admit that there’s something special here. What made the ice cream really excellent was the real fruit chunks that I could taste mixed in, giving each spoonful a unique texture and exceptional flavor. Tasting each bite was like being transported to a tropical paradise. And if tropical flavors aren’t really your thing, a little bit of chocolate might make you really happy. Gunther’s really seems to excel at creating texture in their ice cream, best exemplified in their Rocky Road —the combination of chewy marshmallow and crunchy walnut takes the texture to the next level, and elevates the chocolate experience — and their Mocha Almond Fudge. 2801 Franklin Blvd. (916) 457–3339. www.gunthersicecream.com.

Devine Gelateria & Cafe (1221 9th Street)

The owner of Devine Gelateria, Elizabeth McCleary, told me that gelato is different than ice cream because it is not only healthier, it also contains a lot less air than regular ice cream which contributes to its creamier, more rich texture. I love this rich Italian treat even more than I love ice cream. What I love most about Devine is the authenticity of its ingredients, which make it taste so real and delicious. All of the fruit is sourced locally, and the base is pasteurized in-house, and you can really taste the difference that hand-crafted makes. You can expect a variety of flavors, too, as the menu changes to reflect the seasons. My favorite is the Strawberries & Cream, which is gorgeous, light pink color that just screams sweet. I have a love for anything strawberry, so that is definitely what I would recommend. Available right now on the Devine website is the recipe for this amazing treat, so check out their website! Or better yet, walk in there after finals and get lost in the fruity dreaminess of it for yourself. 1221 9th Street. (916)446-0600. www.devinegelateria.com/#gelato

--

--