A Lama?

Candice Kang
Disposition 2014–15
4 min readOct 25, 2014

When we arrived at the neighbouring village, the doctors and ritualists, including myself, were very shocked. Many of the villagers were sick and had no strength to lift themselves up. The majority of the people weren’t able to eat and dress themselves because it required much energy from them. Fortunately, many people quickly recovered from this massive and sudden spread of the naga illness. This help came from the dedication of both the doctors and ritualists. The doctors brought with them, an extensive amount of medications, and we, the ritualists, brought mandalas, scriptures and other sacred texts. The doctors and the ritualists did not have enough time to rest and eat because we were very concerned with the health of these people who were suffering from this illness… and those who could eventually become vulnerable towards this illness. However, this work paid off. Within three days, the illness disappeared from the village, and laughter, jokes and smiles started to fill the village. The villagers thanked us for our support and dedication for journeying to and for “curing” their town.

Luckily, I’ve heard that the repairments, which are taking place in the Himalayan village, are progressing well. Crops are growing again, but not at an exponential rate, and the shelters are slowly being rebuilt. This is obviously good news because the villagers can start storing up on crops before the cold winter hits the village, and the villagers will have a warm place to stay.

After “restoring” life back at this neighbouring village, we were “ordered” to return back to our village early the next morning. News has spread that a very famous lama was travelling through the region, and could be invited to come to our village to give us teachings and religious empowerment rituals. The Himalayan village would benefit from this visit because of the loss of hope that many villagers have and are currently experiencing after the hailstorm event.

We safely arrived back to the village and all of the ritualists were asked to gather at the monastery early the next morning. Upon arriving to the village, we were acknowledged by the other villagers for our hard work at the “naga illness village.” We were given clean clothes to change into and were served warm, delicious meals. I asked one of the nuns about the lama and she simply told me, “He’s going to come here. I just know it!”

That night, I couldn’t sleep as comfortably as I usually did because of the excitement that spread throughout my body. I couldn’t stop contemplating about this famous lama. I was eager to learn about how he achieved such knowledge about Buddhism. I wanted to know how he did it. Was it hard? Could I do it? What were the odds for me in achieving such knowledge? I was fascinated about the news that I heard about him and also about the various and several achievements he has already accomplished. I was excited to meet the individual who was behind this village’s excited frenzy.

I woke up earlier than usual. It was still dark and the weather was getting colder. I couldn’t wait for the day to begin! I got ready and started to meditate in my room. While I was meditating, my thoughts started to drift away from reality and entered into a state of both fascination and imagination. I pictured myself as a lama. I felt that this image answered the questions that I had asked myself the previous night.

All of the ritualists gathered in the monastery. We were told that the scholars were in charge of inviting the lama by writing a “well-written” letter. The ritualists were ordered to clean the monastery, do the laundry, read and memorize scriptures, assist the other villagers with understanding the Dharma and should prepare to present the objects and items that we found to the lama… well that’s if he decides to come!

Two weeks ago, I discovered several sacred texts and an offering scarf near the monastery. I will present these sacred texts and the scarf to the lama.

I believe that it is very important for this famous lama to come and visit our village. After the sudden hailstorm disaster, many people have lost hope in themselves and have developed a sense of mistrust towards some people, whom they believe are the negative forces for causing such a hailstorm. Many others are also in constant distress, as they believe other tragic events could suddenly wash away our village. If the lama decides to come, he can give his teachings and religious empowerment rituals to the village, which can help the villagers think positively in times of crisis, understand the Dharma better, and could possibly explain how our village could avoid disasters in the future. I believe that this lama can “save” our village.

--

--