A New Year with New Insight

Steph Till
Disposition 2014–15
6 min readJan 27, 2015

After weeks of uncovering all that the cave had to offer; it is finally time for us to depart. I am still astounded at the amount of readings, artifacts, and paintings that we managed to discover without destroying the integrity of such ancient items. No doubt our journey was a grand success and I am sure that the village is anxious to learn not only about all that we found but also of our safe return. As you may recall, my mother ceased my trepidation when this opportunity came about and so I know that she is not fearful for me ; she knew that this was an experience that I simply had to see through even when I did not know it myself . I will be forever grateful for her gentle guidance and reassurance and am certain that she has been praying for me and will be delighted to hear of all that we came across and accomplished.

Amid the many articles and insights that we gained through careful exploration of the cave , we came across many detailed accounts of Buddhist practice from varying perspectives. Some dated all the way back to the 14th , 17th, and 19th centuries! We had to all take turns reading the new texts and so I read the Guide to Sang Practise written by 19th century scholar , Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima (1865–1926). The text provided very detailed and insightful information regarding the importance of smoke purification rituals as the author explains that “the individual who practises these regularly and diligently will gather the accumulations, purify the obscurations, and, in particular, will pacify any obstacles and factors that prevent the accomplishment of the Dharma and awakening in the present lifetime, becoming free of them like the sun emerging from the clouds” ( pg, 5). The text was quite detailed in its instruction of the ritual which I will not elaborate further as it is quite intensive , I was glad to read about the author’s perspective and analysis regarding the ritual as he maintained the importance of visualization and the use of pure substances as essential to execute the ritual correctly. He also explained that , “ sang offerings, which in essence are emptiness and the immaculate wisdom nectar which liberates upon taste, take on different forms in the perception of the various guests. They appear as forms to stimulate the sense of vision, sounds to stimulate the sense of hearing, fragrances to stimulate the sense of smell, flavours to stimulate the sense of taste and tactile sensations to stimulate the sense of touch, as well as all kinds of other riches and enjoyments, all of them complete, with nothing whatsoever lacking — a vast treasure that is inexhaustible, just like the offering clouds of the noble bodhisattva Samantabhadra. ( pg. 6) Previously, I had never personally written such a rich description of each aspect of the ritual especially what is gained if performed successfully. One who has completed the ritual is blessed with a great emptiness that pacifies external destructive influences, illness, adversity, and obstacles , replaced with virtue and good fortune. Equipped with this knowledge, I cannot wait to share it with all my fellow villagers so that we may perform the ritual as a community , creating an enlightened experience for all.

Throughout this journey , I could not shake a feeling in my gut that I was not meant to dwell in the village where I was born and raised forever. While its comforts and security are undeniably appealing and it is true that I will most likely lead a fruitful existence if I stay where I am , I cannot help but think that my path leads to a place I know not yet where at this time. This experience away from home has been very informative for me as for the first time I feel as if I will embark on something independent of my mother or father’s guidance. While my parent’s plans for me are not at all negative , I wish to explore the world from my own perspective and follow this spark of intuition ( as I cannot ignore it any longer) and see where it leads me. Now, this idea of a possible pilgrimage is very premature , it did not randomly pop into my head one day. After careful consideration of the travelogues of ancient Buddhist pilgrims found in the caves , I find myself yearning to trace their footsteps in hopes of attainting at least a fraction of their enlightenment. One such pilgrim named Xuanzang through the Tarim Basin via the northern route in 626 CE through Turfan, Kuch, Tashkent, Samarkan and eventually to India. While it was translated in the late 19th century, the original accounts and descriptions of the regions travelled were written at the request of the Tang Emperor Taizong during this time . Such a source can provide rich insight into not only the state of Buddhist practice and its slight variances by region but also into the perspective of one of the many Buddhist pilgrims travelling and experiencing the diversity and reach of such a practice in ancient China.

We are expected to arrive in the village midday tomorrow and I am eager to discuss my realizations with my mother. I had thought about departing on my pilgrimage right from the caves such was my motivation but though it more prudent to better organize and prepare for such a mission in the familiarity of the village. Also, the course of my life could potentially change drastically with a simple decision and so it must not be taken likely; I require the council of mother and the wiser elders and ritualists of the village. Naturally , I am a little hesitant to broach the subject as I will once more be leaving my mother for the indefinite future. I think it will be difficult for both of us but she will understand and encourage me on the new direction my life has taken. I will also promise to keep in touch the best I can with letters whenever I am able.

I do not yet know my destination but have quite a few ideas that I must sort through. It is said that early pilgrims visited sites associated with the great Buddha Siddhartha Gautama, including Lumbini, Bodh Gaya, Sarnath and Kusinara. One would first travel to the birthplace of the Buddha in Lumbini, (Nepal), and then proceed to India where he first experienced enlightenment at the Bodh Gaya Tree . It was in Sarnath where he held his first teaching and met his death in Kusinara. It is essential that a Buddhist pilgrim visit such sacred grounds in their own path to freedom from samsara as it is in these locations that these fundamental concepts and methods were developed to experience Nirvana.

No doubt such a journey will not only take an indefinite amount of time and not without obstacles, I can imagine that in this age it will be a little easier to travel as the earlier pilgrims dealt with uncharted territory, starvation, disease, and poverty. Many who set out on pilgrimages do not even see it to the end as death overcomes them. While the degree in which I face such challenges may not be severe, this pilgrimage will not be an easy task I am content to complete it despite this fact. After all, our lives are in a constant state of suffering only to be liberated through the realization of enlightenment and I feel as though this pilgrimage will be an opportunity for me to be one step closer to my own attainment of nirvana.

I hope that this experience will reinforce my beliefs and perhaps foster further growth of my insight of the Middle Way as it will be an opportunity for extended self reflection and purification of my mind. This will benefit me greatly in the future as I hopefully proceed down my path to eventual wisdom and understanding of the universe. I pray that my devotion will be enough to see me through to the end of such an incredible opportunity. I have not yet set a date for my departure but I imagine it will be in my very near future; I must first confer with my mother and the village for any wisdom that will definitely benefit me greatly. It will be a challenge and so I must prepare myself mentally and physically as this is not a task for one only partially devoted. I will write as soon as more information develops regarding my impending pilgrimage!

--

--