Disposition 2

Ashwin Andrew
Disposition 2014–15
3 min readOct 9, 2014

As I went back to my tent to seek shelter from the impending hailstorm, I could hear the hail stones coming down. I tried peeking out of tent to take a look at the size of the stones. The hail stones were the size of golf balls. The hailstorm was coming down at an angle so many of the hail stones were entering the cave. Some of the stones were hitting against my tent and it was destroying the wooden frames which was holding it up. Half an hour into the storm, the wooden frame which was holding my tent up could not last any longer and it collapsed. I had to spend the night buried under a tent and the sound of hail destroying everything in sight echoing around the cave.

In the morning, I awoke to water all around the cave. The water level in the cave was up to the middle of my shin. I ran out to the opening of the cave to see the amount of damage the hail has brought upon. As I was reaching the mouth of the cave, I could hear the sound of heavy rain and thunder echoing. As I looked out, I saw that the village was mostly destroyed. The rain did not help with the situation either. The village was all flooded and many villagers were homeless and had to survive the thunderstorm without any shelter. I went back in the cave and started to pack my belongings in anticipation for the heavy rain to stop so that I can lend a hand to the villagers. As I gathered my belongings, I found that the flood in the cave has destroyed most of my belongings. Including my art work that I have been working on since I started this journey to the cave.

Once I was done packing, I started to meditate and think about what I can do to help the villagers. Not long after I started meditating, the rain had finally subsided. I grabbed what was left of my belongings and left the cave to start the dangerous journey down the mountain to the village. I always felt that returning from somewhere is a lot faster than the journey it takes to get to the location and before long, I was near the valley where the village is situated. As I was walking along the main road in which we use to get to and from the village, I could see the amount of destruction the hailstorm had caused. Crops are very hard to grow up in the high altitudes of the Himalayas. Due to the hail storm, many important crops what was used for food were destroyed. I felt pity on the farmers who poured the blood, sweat and tears to grow these crops to find out that it was all ruined in such a short time. I knew that I needed to help the villagers in any way I could to get them back on their feet.

As I headed towards the main bridge that allowed us to cross over a huge river, I saw a large number of villagers crowding around it. I got closer and to my surprise, I saw that the bridge was destroyed and many of the villagers that were on my side of the bridge we trapped and felt the full brunt of the hail storm and thunder storm. I surveyed the area and found out that there was a group of villagers that were severely injured. Many were bleeding as a result of constant bombardment from the hail stones. Others were sick from the heavy rain and cold temperature in which they had to endure. I used what little medicinal knowledge I knew to help the injured and sick out. I used the medicinal herb and pills which I brought with me to the cave and gave it to the sick and injured villagers. I was surprised to hear the other villagers that were healthy started on the construction of the bridge. It was the most important bridge in the village. We used it for trade and travel to and from the village. I saw villagers from neighbouring villagers coming to help. Once I was done tending to the sick and wounded, I headed to the bridge to check on the progress. I could not help but over hear from the neighbouring villagers that an illness that is affecting their village. It is caused by an angered naga spirit. The illness as slowly getting out of hand and the officials in the villagers were getting worried by it.

--

--