Steph Till
Disposition 2014–15
5 min readMar 24, 2015

--

March 18 Blog

Following the New Year Festival, I decided that there was still so much for me to experience in Lhasa separate from the grand celebrations. I wish to immerse myself even further into the daily life of this incredible capital. I look forward to not only marveling at the inspiring murals of the multiple temples and monasteries but also to commence further contemplation of the Eightfold Path in such sacred locations. I hope that the endless positivity present will encourage deeper reflection on how I may proceed on my journey to Enlightenment. The feeling of intuition that I discussed earlier has never left me throughout this experience thus far and so I am hopeful that I am proceeding in the right direction as I still feel as though I am meant to be in Lhasa for the time being.

My semi permanent residence has allowed me to correspond with my mother and the village through letters and I am so grateful that our messages were delivered successfully. Her latest response updated me on the somber happenings of the village as of late. A hermit , also known as Crazy Uncle by the village gossip has died. He was quite the mystery as I remember hearing silly stories growing up as a child depicting him as a peculiar fellow who kept to himself in a cave for decades. Everyone seemed to have a crazy and vastly different story from the other regarding his origins and no one to this day knows for sure . My mother asked in her letter how the village should proceed on his funeral arrangements as the practices would differentiate according to his level of attainment . Naturally, the village is at odds regarding this matter and I will not know until the next letter what actually happened.In my response to her, I outlined my knowledge of death rituals but as a preface I will briefly explain the Buddhist concept of death.

“ Death merely marks the transition point from one bodily form to the next; it should not be feared since it is not the ultimate cessation in life . Rather it marks the commencement of one’s next existence. Upon death, one’s consciousness principle enters the hazardous intermediary realm, called bardo. For 49 days, one remains in this state in which Lama priests or monks read from the Tibetan Book of the Dead to guide them into their next incarnation. Life and death are in a constant continuum with one another , Just as one ends, the other begins and so on.”

While we do not know the level of the hermit’s attainment , we do know that he died of old age. The death of an older person translates to good fortune as it is no small feat to reach such a ripe age and so it is accepted that they have attained a lot of positive karmic action. Timing is crucial in the immediate days after the death of a person as the family must prepare to call the Lama or monks to perform the vigil that allows the soul to transmigrate from the body. I am unsure of how and when the hermit’s body was discovered in the cave which may be problematic . Not only that but it seemed as though the man did not have any family in the village which is challenging considering that the family is responsible in ensuring that everything runs smoothly . However, based upon the Hermit’s old age and seemingly good fortune as a tantric practitioner, it may warrant the villages’ pooling of resources to supply arrangements for the rites. Perhaps, for practicality the period of bardo will only last 3- 7 days versus 49.

Much of what I know about the village traditions of funeral rites revolves around what I experienced when my father passed away. I recall the immediate arrival of the Lama and other laymen into our home and the swiftly cut my father’s hair to allow the soul to exit the body through the crown of his head followed by a period in which they chanted continuously. This allowed for the souls safe departure directly into a paradise called Dewachen in which it is said that the Buddha presides over. I remember my mother telling me to offer prayers wholeheartedly as she explained that the rebirth into Dewachen allows a lay person to more easily attain enlightenment and promptly release themselves from their previous state of suffering , escaping the cycle of Samsara. It is the duty of the living to alleviate the plight of the dying as much as we can.

Once this rite was completed, the empty body that was once my father was wrapped in a white cloth to be prepared for the visitation of our extended family and friends in the village where offerings of condolences and positive karmic action are brought forth. More passages from the Book of the Dead are offered to promote a safe journey to Dewachen in the day that follows. The final day of the proceedings calls for the cremation of the body where the village gathers to see the palanquin off to the pyre at the monastery grounds.

After the lama concludes his recitation of scripture, the family must wait until and the fire cools the following day to collect the ashes . I remember holding my mothers hand as we followed the casket carrying my father led by the Lama , monks, and lay men. We were encouraged to think only positive thoughts to ward off any negative energy that would hinder the soul from a fruitful rebirth. We also silently contemplated the impermanence of life while radiating thoughts of loving kindness.

The next day, the ashes were prepared and I will never forget the tears of my mother as she and I spread them to the mountains and sky above.

I am unsure as to how everything will proceed regarding the Hermit’s funeral arrangements as so little is known about his life. My father was a lay person his funeral proceeded accordingly but I am weary of the village making the wrong decision on how to respectfully commence the rites. The hermit could be a lay person or could be well on his way to attaining enlightenment. I really hope that they do not do his soul a disservice but assuming incorrectly but what choice do they have. I am now quite curious as to how the proceedings of a hermit would occur . Luckily, I am in the ideal city to shed some light on this issue . I have no doubt that the most venerable Lama of Lhasa will have some information but it will inevitably take some time and incredible good fortune to arrange an audience with him. Perhaps I should start with the monks at one of the monasteries here. I wish I could have been more help to the village but alas time is a very sensitive thing in this situation and naturally as I write this account, the funeral proceedings have already commenced.

I will remain here indefinetley for reasons I outlined earlier and all the hesitation I had before about being away from home for so long has vanished as I feel as if I am finally on the right path. I will write as soon as I am able

— Kya

--

--