Pilgrimages

Candice Kang
Disposition 2014–15
6 min readJan 23, 2015

For the past few days, the weather has been relatively sunny and cold at the Himalayan village. There were some heavy snowfalls, which made it hard for people to proceed with their daily errands. Despite the coldness and the snow, there were no damages or illnesses that took over our village. Also, since the weather has been cold, many of the villagers have been staying indoors and as a result, the streets have been fairly quiet. The quietness of the village created a natural and peaceful environment. The snow was also glistening because of the bright sun, which created a sense of warmth and excitement in the village.

Over the past few weeks, I thought about going on a pilgrimage. I contemplated if I should leave the village with a group of people, but then I realized that going alone would be a better option for me to take. By going alone, I would be able to think more clearly and purely, become wiser and meditate in an environment without any distractions. However, before committing myself to such a journey, I decided to read some books so that I could understand the importance and aspects of pilgrimages.

There were several books that caught my interest in the newly established library at the nunnery. They made me realize that pilgrimages were important and that people were able to realize and understand topics that they hadn’t before. I read those books whenever I had spare time, and when I didn’t, I lit a candle at night and read until sunrise. Reading these personal stories and fact-based scholarly articles made me long for pilgrimages.

One of the books that I read was titled, The Guide to the Crystal Peak. After reading some paragraphs in this book, I understood that pilgrimages promoted trade in both goods and information and that it also brought persons from far distant parts of the Tibetan world together in a special realm. I came to realize these individuals had dedicated either the remaining of their life, or wanted to go on a short pilgrimage so that they could understand who they were and wanted to discover the answers to their so-called “difficult” questions. In addition, there was a significant guidebook called, The Guide to the Great Pilgrimage Center of the Crystal Peak, which described all of the important centres of pilgrimage and many minor sites. This guidebook emphasized the symbolic significance of certain landscapes, specific sacred objects and “treasures,” and legendary and historical associations with some of the great culture heroes of the Tibetan past. The configurations of stone, designs seen in the cliffs, and so forth are described as the naturally formed images of deities. After reading about The Guide to the Great Pilgrimage Center of the Crystal Peak, I decided to search for this book during my pilgrimage.

The next book I read was named, Putting the Gnas Back into Gnas-skor: Rethinking Tibetan Pilgrimage Practice. The Guide to the Great Pilgrimage Center of the Crystal Peak encouraged me to read another book about Tibetan pilgrimages. I came to understand that Tibetans called the parts of the physical world as gnas, and learned that both Tibetan clerics and Western scholars explained ritual behaviour that related persons and gnas together. An example of this were pilgrimages. I realized how humans were in constant contact with the physical world.

The third book that I read was called, Growing Through Travel. One of the chapters started off with a Tibetan Proverb: “Better to drink arak with a heart of good intention then to go on pilgrimage with a heart of evil intent.” This proverb emphasized the importance of having a pure, clear and honest heart when going on a pilgrimage. The chapter also explained that locals believed that those who were not mentally prepared for the journey would never find the entrance to the hidden valley. I understood that I had to meditate and also had to have a peaceful and honest heart in order to realize what the true meanings were for pilgrimages. Pilgrimages are undertaken by Tibetans for a variety of reasons: Some people visited holy sites to pray for specific wishes, such as health, prosperity, or even the ability to conceive a child. Others had more pious concerns, seeking to advance their religious practice by tapping into the energy of a place that pulsates with spiritual power. This chapter also noted that religious mendicants in the Buddhist tradition are and were permitted, and even expected to beg for food; that was how many pilgrims sustained themselves on long journeys. I knew that I wasn’t going to enjoy most of my meals in a comfortable atmosphere anymore, and would have to change my diet if I didn’t have an alternative.

Lama Gyatso explained that one of the benefits of going on a pilgrimage was that individuals got the chance to meet many pure lamas. By requesting religious teachings from them, one could eliminate obstacles along the path of their life course. When one dies, the road to their next incarnation will be especially good. They will not experience suffering. By internalizing religious teachings, one attains a deep understanding of their own ignorance. Even when one dies, this understanding becomes an inclination for their next life. In the future, they will attain a high rebirth. One will always experience peace of mind due to the good inclinations generated through their pilgrimage.

The last book that I picked up from the library was called, The Travel Records of Chinese Pilgrims Faxian, Xuanzang, and Yijing. I learned that Chinese pilgrims played a key role in the exchanges between ancient India and ancient China. They introduced new texts and doctrines to the Chinese clergy, carried Buddhist paraphernalia for the performance of rituals and ceremonies, and provided detailed accounts of their spiritual journeys to India. These travel records contributed to the development of a unique perception of India among members of the Chinese clergy. In addition, I also learned that Faxian, Xuanzang, and Yijing were some of the Chinese monks who made pilgrimages to India during the first millennium CE.

Faxian wanted to highlight Buddhist practices at the sites he visited. That is why his account includes the description of local Buddhist monasteries, the approximate number of Buddhist monks in the region, the teachings and rituals practiced by them, and the Buddhist legends associated with some of these sites. One of Xuanzang’s main reasons to undertake a journey to India was to visit the sacred Buddhist sites. Xuanzang also wanted to correct the original works and learn the doctrines directly from Indian teachers. Yijing wanted to rectify the errors in the applications of the original Buddhist principles in China.

All of these readings were very inspirational. Each individual had different reasons for becoming a pilgrim, and these reasons were to shape them into a better and more spiritual being at the end of their pilgrimage.

I planned to leave the village for my pilgrimage in a couple of days. I decided to write a letter to my family, explaining why I was going to leave the village, and what got me inspired to initiate such a trip. The weather was still cold, so I packed my bag with an extra set of robes, pants and socks. I also packed a notebook so that I could write down information and sketch some sculptures. Like the other pilgrims, I wanted to meet lamas, individuals and visit many different spiritual places. I had many questions that I did not and could not find the answers to. Like Lama Gyatso said, pilgrims would be able to meet many pure lamas. I wanted to ask these lamas questions that were based on the concepts of feelings and Buddhist teachings. Some of the other individuals in the village were also planning to leave for their pilgrimages as well.

When I am travelling, I plan on collecting plants and minerals for the medicine factory. I want the medicine factory to have an abundant amount of resources so that no individual lacks in receiving any of the supplies they need. Although I have high expectations from this pilgrimage, I know that I am going to encounter difficulties along the way. However, I believe that these difficulties are going to shape me into a wiser and knowledgeable individual. Although I am a monk, I do not know everything about Buddhism. I hope to learn many different things that I have never thought of, and also hope to discover the spiritual realms that I thought I would never be able to reach. During my pilgrimage, I want to collect a variety of sacred objects, books and scriptures so that I could bring them back to the village. I want to help those individuals who do not or cannot go on a pilgrimage, but are inspired and motivated to learn the Dharma.

--

--