Preparations in hope of the Lama’s visit

Sarah Andrews
Disposition 2014–15
3 min readOct 17, 2014

I learned there was more devastation than I previously thought from the hailstorm. Not only were homes damaged but the well being of our village has been hurt from the storm’s impact. There was damage to the temple as well. I heard from Becca, a man down the road from my hut, that the mural was damaged in the temple and he would repair it quietly and quickly. As well as our village being hit by the hailstorm, I sadly heard that a storm had devastated part of Nepal this past week killing people. At least four people from my country died which leaves their family mourning them. The need to recognize and celebrate where we are each moment becomes clear to me when these tragedies happen.

I heard talk of a great teacher visiting the village down the river, a Lama. We have sent an invitation in hopes he will arrive here and help us to get strong again. Now the bridge is repaired we are not so isolated. Many of my neighbours are busy, working together in preparation in hopes of the Lama’s visit and it is exciting but quite overwhelming. Scholars met together and wrote a letter to invite this great teacher and I was permitted to hear the poetry and the body of the letter which not only venerated this great teacher with wonderful metaphors but also inviting him to perform rituals of empowerment and teach us compassion. I am humbled by those who can write such letters.

As I am new to this village, it has taken me time to find a place I can serve. With the hope that the Lama might visit us, there are many activities to prepare for and I have met another artist, Becca, who lives not far from my hut here above the monastery. He is distracted sometimes as his wife is having a child soon but is working diligently to create a great mandala at the entrance of the temple which I am permitted to help with. He will design the outside of this large art work and I will follow his directions by adding the colour within. I am going to send for some new pigments so this work is beautiful. I am feeling that this is something I can help with and my time is not just spent observing the village.

I have learned a great deal from this new friendship, the rituals and preparations around the possible arrival of a Lama are great. I have been helping his wife sweep and clean in the temple and I have listened to the others talk about how we will line the roads of the village as the Lama arrives. The pageantry and the great love that is shown when welcoming a teacher is wonderfully exciting. How the lama is going to teach us and perform empowerment rituals which will prolong our life and health will be new to me. It is compassion that allows for these gifts of ritual.

I have donated my barley flour to the monastery so it may be used to create tormas. I have also given some money as an offering to be used and was informed that this in itself provides me with some merit. Just by the act of giving and offering, one begins to let go of one’s attachments. I have read that the use of tormas may have resulted from the Buddhist practice of non-violence replacing what might have been animal sacrifices in the past. I am most curious about the idea that the Deity is actually present within the torma at the time of the ceremony. I find I am asking more questions as I live in this village of such richness.

I must go and find Stephen, the trader, to order some pigments and maybe stones to create a gift offering for the arrival of the lama. I am so caught up in this that even as I slept last evening, I dreamed that the Dali Lama was encouraging this venerable teacher to visit our village after he visits the one down the river. It is was a wishful dream. I am content to be part of the planning and the preparations.

--

--