Sky Caves

Rory Nicol
Disposition 2014–15
4 min readNov 11, 2014

--

Image from Sky Caves of Nepal

Ha las pa! For those who read my blog but do not understand Tibetan, this means “Amazing”! A wondrous event has occurred which has excited me to the very heart of my being. A side of a cliff has fallen down. This does not sound so amazing in itself, but it is what the fallen cliff has exposed. It has uncovered ancient caves, perhaps going back as far as the time of Padmasambhava! If this is the case, then there could be vital ancient teachings awaiting to be rediscovered. Perhaps some of the ancient scrolls may teach us how to find a previously undiscovered beyul. There are so many exciting possibilities waiting to be found!

Once I heard about the discovery of the caves, I met with many others in our village and we decided to plan an adventure in order to explore and recover what may exist in these caves. Of course, we do not know what are in the caves but we will prepare for everything. Many people from all areas of study have decided to join this group — scholars, builders, farmers, ritualists, artists — we have at least one person from each field. Becky, who is proficient in rituals (and has taught me in ritual at certain points in my life) has graciously accepted the task to gather all the important amulets needed for this dangerous journey. The only iron worker in the village, Tenzin, has expressed great interest in joining us which means that he will be able to design and build cleats and climbing axes, amongst other gear necessary for the perilous journey up ahead. The gear is just as important as the amulets as is the medicine and the food and so we are lucky that at the last minute Rinchen Pow has chosen to join us. She is easily one of the most trustworthy builders in our village. After she showed interest, our group met with her and she mentioned that he has designed a new technology for carts to help carry our belongings (I do not understand building very well, so I won’t go into details); poles to steady our bodies while mountaineering; and brand new frames for our backs.

Speaking about carts, they are an important symbol in Buddhist literature. The eight-spoked wheel commonly used as a symbol in Buddhism is from a cart. The term, Dukkha (in Tibetan it is dukngal), which you westerners often incorrectly define as suffering (such a terrible word which separates the individual from the experience of dukkha itself) is originally meant to be the way a peg fits into the wheel of a cart. Dukkha is a poorly fitted peg into the hole of the wheel of a cart. When a peg cannot keep the wheel steady, the cart will bounce and shake more often. This rocking of the cart creates more tensions and discomfort for the riders of the cart. Buddhism provides the teachings to turn dukkha into sukkha. This is when the peg fits properly into the cart, thus holding the wheel steady. One must realize that the road will never be steady, but if one has steady cart they can then accept that they have done their best which in turn helps one accept the discomfort from the bumps of the road itself.

The Road Ahead
We have appropriated a local hunter to take us to the caves, since hunters are best equipped, mentally and physically, for journeys such as this. Many hunters travel far and wide across the Himalayan Mountains in order to find the best meat for their villages. We have some very dedicated hunters. Although some, such as Tseten Bhozang, is an obnoxious drunkard. He prefers his chang and what he calls his super powers to “attract” women while under the drink’s influence (many people consider this power to be molestation). On a number of occasions I have had to forcibly separate him from his ignorant actions, strongly testing my compassion (It does remind me that compassion must sometimes occur with a fist, as long as it is in self-defence and I can avoid keeping it personal). Thankfully, it is not Tseten that we are bringing with us on this journey but rather Chodak, a 53 year old man who knows these mountains very well. I have, on a number of occasions, had very good conversations with him and can joyfully call him my friend. I feel safe with him leading us.

For this journey, I have noticed that I am the only doctor. There is one other — a man whose name I have forgotten — but he is trained only in first aid, which will be a great benefit but this also means that I must remain sound in my practice of emptiness and compassion. I must also listen to my dreams and await any possible visions of what may lay ahead in preparation. I must prepare my medicine with the utmost care and responsibility, since it may mean life or death for any member. Perhaps it will be my karma to save a life on this journey, who knows?

The road ahead is bringing up a mixture of excitement and anxiety in me. One can never know what will happen on an adventure! I must then depart for now and go prepare. We leave very soon. Be well.

--

--

Rory Nicol
Disposition 2014–15

Research-based stories written for my Buddhism course at UofT, learning about the life and culture of a Tibetan in early Tibet.