The Bsang, The Windhorse, and the Three Jewels

Sarah Andrews
Disposition 2014–15
4 min readOct 31, 2014

--

the background picture is the symbol for the three jewels

I want to use my blog today to consider some of the activities which have occurred in this village in anticipation of the Lama’s visit. When this event was just a hope, or maybe a dream, we all began to scurry around and do our individual tasks in preparation so the village and we would reflect the respect and appreciation we have for a teacher of this magnitude. Perhaps was also a method to repair some of the hurt caused by the storm and the bridge. Now we are assured Khenpo SoDargy will visit us in the next few days and the village has become almost quiet in its preparations as a under the direction of our monks and ritualists. Fires are burning, using the wood of the juniper. I had not really noticed the juniper bushes until now. I find that I am noticing much more these days. My neighbours refer to the burning of the juniper as a form of Bsang. This is a purification ritual and even I, a craft person, can practice this in my own hut.

The burning of Juniper is giving the whole village a lovely wafting aroma, and it is entering every part of our lives, our homes, our clothing even ourselves as we breathe it into our lungs. I think this is part of the reason that Juniper is chosen, it leaves evidence that the purification practice or ritual was performed. I remember as a young man in Quebec, we would run our hands through the branches of the cedar trees and crush the oil of the plant enjoying the fresh scent which freed a new memories and thoughts as we smelled it. This Bsang has done the same for me but for our community it has purified our place of the bad spirits and wrong practices and allows for newness and repaired relationships. Fire is a form of cleansing. The smoke from the juniper is helping to regain favour with our village’s protecting deities who we must have offended with our wrong behaviours to have permitted such a storm as the recent Hailstorm which damaged so much and so many and yet skipping other villages. The favour should be restored before the Llama visits us.

Although this burning of juniper is not the annual Bsang held near the mountain and the monastery, it is being very respected by most members of our village. As an artist, I have added to the burning some paper with the image of the wind horse (rlung rta) drawn on. I was told by one of the monks that the wind horse was incorporated into Buddhism and is a symbol of the idea of well-being or good fortune. There are other animals used with the windhorse such as the dragon, the snow leopard and the tiger but I am just learning about the one for now. These images can be found on many of the prayer flags as I show here at the bottom of the blog. Flying and carrying the prayers of those traveling south of here in Nepal. The horse, I have drawn, is carrying the three jewels but I am informed it could also carry what is called the “wish fulfilling jewel” or Chintamani. This wish fulfilling jewel is said to be one of four relics which, in a chest, fell from the sky according to story during the fifth century and actually brought the Dharma to Tibet. I am unclear how this happened and am not sure what this jewel might look like so I have included the windhorse carrying the symbol of the three jewels, taking refuge in the Buddha, the Dharma (the teaching), and the Sangha (the community).

When I write the word community, I remember that I am very small here and need to help with the rest of my neighbours. The lama will be here soon and the mandala is created with coloured sand, the floors are swept and cleared and the purification is continual. I will go and prepare my gift and see how barley flour becomes part of a ceremony taking the form of tormas.

The Prayer Flags along a mountain pass in Nepal

--

--