The Calm Before the Storm : Deposition October 1 2014

Steph Till
Disposition 2014–15
3 min readOct 2, 2014

My name is Kya and I am 23 years young; I am an artists of sorts and my strengths lay in the painting of vibrant murals depicting the teachings of the Buddha. My Father taught me all that I know and I sincerely hope that I am honoring his memory by continuing his legacy. He had just began restoring a mural at our village’s Monastery depicting the Wheel of Life which illustrates the belief of Dependent Origination when he suddenly became gravely ill. As he grasped my hand weakly in his final moments, I promised that I would complete the mural in a way that he would appreciate. It was then that his features previously distorted in pain relaxed into contentment and he fell into a restful sleep that would take him into the next life. It would be months before I could even bring myself out of my sorrow to gaze upon the incomplete mural at the monastery.

My father not only passed on his skills in the arts but also all that I know about our way of life as a Tantric Buddhist. I am forever grateful to him that I have a method to convey my dedication to living with the teachings of the Buddha at the forefront of my mind. Through my paintings and murals , I feel as though I am living in accordance with The Eight-fold Path of right action. By following the Four Noble Truths that explain the truth and nature of the Dukkha or continuous discontent and suffering of mortal existence, I will be able to achieve liberation.]

Recently, the village has been astir with constant chatter and gossip regarding the rumors of the supposed hailstorm that will soon reach us, bringing devastation to us all. It is difficult to differentiate whether it is true or false as I have heard so many variations explaining why such terror is on the horizon. I must not fall victim to the negative karmic affects that come with such action of idle chatter and lies. However, I should also take the warning into affect by praying for goodwill to not only myself but to all in my village. Since the passing of my father, my mother has become a shell of her former energetic and passionate self. My heart aches for her and I must take care of her during the uncertain times ahead.

I have heard of many purchasing protective amulets , especially the traders and builders who will be mostly impacted by the storm if it does occur. While I support their reasoning, I do not want to fall victim to such temptation especially if the news of the storm is all false. I will take my own protective cautions into account and will be sure to protect my resources and the art that is my livelihood. I must also make sure that my father’s project is shielded in case the storm occurs.

While my home is humble, I am prepared to offer aid to those impacted by the storm .I will be happy to offer not only my artistic work but also my knowledge in ritual ; my father always emphasized the importance of recognizing every aspect of our way of life so that we may effectively communicate the way of the Buddha through our artistic expression. While i am in no way adept in the art of ritual and still have much to learn, I am still familiar with the ritual teachings so I will be able to offer assistance and guidance.

I am sure that the coming days will prove to be a challenge for our small village as we are quite isolated but I hope that through right view and action I will come out of this ordeal fairly unscathed. I only hope that my mother will be alright, I am not sure if she can handle another tragedy so soon after the death of her beloved husband. Perhaps I should have purchased an amulet for her as I feel that she will need more assistance than me.

--

--