The lama is coming.

Junyeon Kim
Disposition 2014–15
3 min readOct 23, 2014

--

I had a high hope that the Lama would visit our village. Especially, after all the devastation and suffering we went through last three weeks. Fortunately, a messenger came to our village this morning and delivered us the good news that Lama’ had accepted our invitation. All the villagers seem very excited about the Lama’s upcoming visit. We even finished the reconstruction of the bridge just right on time. It looks like everything is going in the right place for once. All the broken and damaged houses are now either done getting fixed or just left with few last touches. Even the flowers and plants around the village are blooming and looking lively. Everything looks to be fine like nothing had happened.

Yet all this positivity is making me worried that the Lama would only see the good and pretty side of our village. Only few weeks ago, the people in our village were suffering and confused.

If all that panic would happen again today, we are in no better shape than we were a few weeks ago. Of course, the ritualists and builders came up with some sort of preventive plans for such hailstorm or any natural disasters to come in future. However, I am still very worried that we will suffer in lost meanings and confusion all over again if there was to be another unexpected disaster or a major illness. And if we did face another great darkness, I believe our village will not be able to get back up again because we will soon lose faith and hope. Some would probably leave our village.

That’s why I hope that the lama would give us strong hope and faith that will be engraved in our soul that we will never give up from any sufferings in our lives to come. Also, since the suffering in our lives come from the ignorance, I hope that the lama would enlighten us and help us minimize or even liberate from the suffering.

When the hailstorm hit and people were worrying about the naga illness being contagious and all, I thought people in our village turned selfish. The traders and farmers raised up prices for basic goods like rice, gas, and clothes. I guess I don’t really blame them though. I also don’t know if that was being selfish, trying to survive and acting on their instincts, or even if that was a good or bad karma. I mean, what are we supposed to do when we face such hardship and devastation? I don’t know. Then again, even if I did know, it’s not something people in our village would listen to.

I have hopes for the Lama’s visit. I really wish he would address these issues and get the ignorance out of our people and lead us the right way. And I hope that is why we are doing all this preparation for the Lama’s visit. We are still in shortage of crops and many other resources yet people are making sacrifices by donating their resources for the Lama’s visit. I too have donated some artistic resources and gold so we can decorate the village.

I have been helping builders and artists with drawing the 8 auspicious offerings. From the entrance to the monastery where the lama will stay, I have been drawing lotus, conch shell, dharma wheel, endless knot, offering vase, umbrella, gold fish and victory banner with a white chalk. These are the objects that traditionally have been painted to welcome a Lama or to hold the spiritual ceremony in the village. I also swipe around the village and decorate the trees with 5 coloured cloth strings. I think the village is well prepared for the Lama’s visit. Even the weather is perfect for celebration.

--

--