The Storm has Passed — Second Week

shelby
Disposition 2014–15
3 min readOct 7, 2014

The hailstorm has passed, damaging my home; belongings and a lot of the trading goods in the community have been affected. I am upset with myself that I did not go out and get the amulets that could have saved all of my property seeing that they actually work. Amulets are good to use to protect one’s self from different situations or dangers. They work by wearing them on your body, commonly on one’s neck, people can also wear more than one amulet at a time, and it is common to see people wearing many amulets for their protection. If there is a chance to obtain amulets in the future for my protection I will definitely be doing so. Unfortunately right before the storm I was in a neighbouring village trading my herbs and got back right before the storm hit. Because I was not able to prepare there is damage to my home that I will need to prepare, hopefully with some assistance from my neighbours as I am not a good builder. I may have to trade their efforts in helping me fix my house for money or another object, but it is worth it to get my home back to normal before night fall. It also damaged the bridge, but it is good to see that the town is trying to fix it, as it is ample that I can leave town, and others can come to town for my trading. I am going to go today and see if there is any money needed to help build the bridge, but I have heard from my neighbors that there is already enough money to fix the bridge.

I understand that some healers want to go to the next town over and help those affected by the naga illness there once the bridge is built again. I will take part in this, as it is an opportunity to trade a lot of the herbs to the people who are ill there. This is very important as I need more money to help me rebuild my house, and as there is not as much crop to trade because it was damaged in the storm. It is also important that I help the neighbouring village because it is important to help others, and get more merit throughout my life. It is my hope that the herbs that I have can not only assist my finances but also truly help people while they are awaiting one of the healers.

I have also decided that it would be a good idea to get some skill in farming so that I do not have to rely on the other people in the village at times like this. This is going to be a difficult task because the land in Tibet is not very plentiful in terms of farming, which is why I must have so much meat in my diet to survive. It is my hope that I will be able to grow enough food to sustain myself, and if I am lucky, perhaps enough to give to others. It will also be useful to trade what I do not use to neighbours for some extra money to help after the hail and rain storm.

--

--