The Visit, Ritual, and the Universe

Jamal
Disposition 2014–15
3 min readNov 25, 2014

The great lama has come and gone and clearly our village is all the better for it. Some aspects of this visit were rather surprising for me. First off, I am pleased to say that my concerns over the usefulness of the material offerings made to the lama were allayed. He made some very generous donations to our village and now I can begin to see some positive karmic results from all of the villages work these past few weeks. To begin with, he left the ritualists with an array of protective amulets that they have handed out. I received one for the first time, and I am hoping that it does what it can to offer protection in the future. He was also kind enough to donate funds to help create a printing press and a new library for the nunnery. Wow! That is truly fantastic news and I’m sure it will help me in my continuing work towards improving my scholarly knowledge. Lastly, he had heard about the contributions our doctors had made to help the neighboring village get over the Naga epidemic. Due to this, he decided to donate funds so that we can build a medicine factory in the village. This is very big news, especially for me, as a builder it gives me new work to do.

The public rituals I got to experience were quite astounding. I can now see the use of all the material objects that went into the ritual. It allowed for rituals to be performed and to be participated in by the community. By becoming involved in the rituals we are given a sense that our actions there have an effect as intended by the ritual. I wonder though, if these feelings were the result of something that happened during the rituals or if they were simply the result of our collective action in the preparation. Either way, the rituals served their purpose. We were empowered.

The most venerable bodhisattva also gave us a sermon on cosmology. It was interesting to say the very least and I have learned much about the size and scope of the cosmos that we live in. Apparently, there is an infinite multiplicity of universes, all of which have no true beginning. The universe like all is caused by karma and goes through cycles of rebirth similar to our own. It begins with birth-not creation in any meaningful sense of the word- but a coming into being. Then it remains in an existential state, it continues. Eventually this gives way to a time of destruction, the universe will fold in on itself or come to an end, through fire, as we know it. Finally there is a stage of nothingness; this is a time before a universe is born again to restart the cycle. This leaves me with questions. Is this nothingness literal? Is it a time that will truly come to be or is it analogous to nirvana? Is this truly a temporal cycle, will the universe cease to exist on an individual or collective level? These I think are complex questions. I found it interesting that the lama explained that this conception of the universe is in tune with the scientific worldview that dominates distant lands. What does this say about the truth of our tradition, and the truth of science? Can one confirm the other? If both hold similar predictions, then how do non-Buddhists fit into our worldview?

He did not reflect on that old creation myth I was brought up with; that is, Mount Meru and the like…he made no mention of hell realms either. I wonder then, has Buddhism changed since I was a young boy? If all of what he said is indeed true then does the tradition have a special capacity to evolve? Or, perhaps he simply did not have time to talk about that old myth and it fits in some how. For the time being, I cannot see how both can be true. I think though, it is best to trust his teachings…since what I know from my upbringing was mostly from my father…a builder, not a learned man like the lama.

--

--