There is a lama nearby!

Heather Wilkinson
2 min readMar 13, 2015

--

I’ve decided that I must go to help those with the naga illness in our neighbouring village. In doing this I will be reminded of the importance of generosity. I look up to the famous lamas that are known in our region because of the generosity that they show towards others, and so I know i must show the same generosity. Recently in the nunnery, I had a teaching about the importance of compassion for others. We are all interdependent, so we must all have compassion for one another. Once one realizes the true nature of the world, the only way to live is with compassion, and so I strive to do so. This is why it is very important that I go help those who are sick. I will use some of the medicines I made, and I am hopeful that there will be some ritualists there to help me. Ritualists are necessary to help get rid of the spirits that are causing the illness. I will find a group of other doctors and ritualists to go with and we will leave tonight, perhaps others will decide to join us on our journey as well.

In our village I have heard many stories about the famous lamas that travel throughout the country, teaching and helping those to learn the scriptures, that teach us how to follow the path towards enlightenment. Many of the texts that we keep in the nunnery can be very difficult to understand without a teacher to help you learn them. So, if the lama were to come to our village, perhaps some of the village will be able to learn more about what they mean. If the lama does indeed decide to visit our village I will have to try to return in time to see him. I do not think I will have much time to prepare anything for him, since I will be quite busy preparing medicines and helping those that are sick in our neighbouring village, but I will try to collect some prayer scarves in my journeys. I would like to witness, once in my life, the arrival of a famous lama. I have heard stories of just how spectacular it all looks, a lot of preparation goes into it, and I would really hate to miss it. Although at the same time I know that no matter what I must go help those that are sick. Following the principles of right view and right action are important in my decisions. I know that the scholars of my village will be the ones who are preparing a letter that will be sent to the lama, and I know we have very good scholars in my village so I’m sure that he will come. I think that his visit would bring us good fortune and would help many of us on our long paths towards enlightenment. The teaching that he would bring would be like no other. Maybe if I leave as soon as possible to the neighbouring village I will be back in time for if he does agree to visit.

--

--