Introducing the Digital and Innovation Team: Daniel Ford, Full Stack Developer

Daniel Ford
RNID
Published in
2 min readJul 15, 2022

Daniel tells us about being a developer at RNID, Node.js and other languages, his preferred styles of working, and what his superpower is.

Daniel Ford, Full Stack Developer. Photo taken infront of Lake Geneva in Montreux, Switzerland.
Daniel Ford, Full Stack Developer for Digital and Innovation at RNID — Montreux Jazz Festival Switzerland

Pronouns

He/him

Social Media

Follow Daniel on LinkedIn
Follow Daniel on Instagram

Tell us about your role at RNID

As a developer, I am responsible for the creation, modification, maintenance and security of websites and software solutions, whilst working closely with service designers and product managers to ensure an effective software development lifecycle.

How do we work best with a full stack developer?

My role is technical — I am a programmer and write code using a variety of software development tools and flavours; however I like to think I am approachable to anyone seeking discussion, information, or just progressing their own knowledge. I am most effective and contactable in the mornings, so feel free to get in touch. I like coffee, but that is a little hard to achieve remotely.

What are you working on at the moment

- Hearing Check
- Online Community Platform
- RNID Website
- Google Analytics

Tell us about something you’ve been proud to work on

I am fairly new here, so it’s difficult to describe which project/product I am most proud of as most are yet to be published, however I am proud to work within a team as competent and innovative as RNID’s Digital & Innovation team. I particularly enjoy working on the website as it involves many different activities and people. I also am enjoying the community platform product as it reaches a prototyping phase.

What’s your superpower?

I create bespoke web applications in PHP, CSS, HTML & JavaScript using Node.js and a variety of other languages and toolkits. I am particularly technical and like to share my experiences and knowledge wherever asked. I use a time-boxed and agile mindset when working on projects, and often work on up to 5 projects simultaneously. I have effective communication skills and work well both alone and as part of a larger team.

Where are you working today?

I work from the back bedroom of our house in Penarth, whilst my wife now has the primary office that I built over many years. Since Covid, she has worked from home and now has taken over my plush refined working environment with cat beds and holiday photos.

What’s your favourite weekend activity?

Either exploring Welsh coastlines, enjoying landscape and event photography, or working as an operator and audio/visual engineer for theatre, corporate and festivals.

--

--