Why Bitcoin Will Change The World

Road Less Ventured
Road Less Ventured
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2015

Brett Munster

Over the past two years I have been fascinated with Bitcoin and the underlying Blockchain technology. I don’t consider myself an expert in the sector, but I have talked to a number of investors, entrepreneurs, and read countless articles, blogs, and papers on the subject. Like many others, I have come to the conclusion that the Blockchain technology will be one of the most transformative platforms over the next 25 years.

Bitcoin as a digital currency, while very useful, is NOT why I am excited about the technology. Instead, the underlying Blockchain protocol is a technological advancement in the same way the Internet was in the early 90s. Digital currency is merely the first application on the platform much the same way email was an early application on the Internet. I believe that over the next 25 years, this technology will cause the same level of disruption that the Internet has caused over the past 25 years. The Google, Facebook, or Uber of the next generation will be a Blockchain based company.

As an associate, I am often asked to do sector or market analysis. Usually it’s a specific sector that our GPs have asked for more research on. However, the latest one I did was on Bitcoin, a sector I want to invest in. I am posting the majority of that analysis here for two reasons. First, if you are not familiar with Bitcoin, this should give you a great overview on what the technology is and why it will be so impactful. Second, I welcome any feedback, comments, or insights anyone has as I am always looking to learn more about the subject.

http://www.slideshare.net/secret/HylrtfAHLhPq5K

--

--

Road Less Ventured
Road Less Ventured

Brett Munster and Selina Troesch’s thoughts on venture capital from an associate’s perspective