Why Board Meetings Don’t Have To Suck

Brett Munster
Road Less Ventured
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2016

Maybe its because I am still a relatively new investor, but one thing I really enjoy about my job is board meetings. Let me clarify this statement a little. My favorite part of the job is working with companies on strategic planning, growing their business, and helping over come whatever obstacles seem to be in the way that week. Not just once a month or once a quarter, but on a weekly and daily basis. Board meetings just tend to be the pinnacle of these strategy sessions because they provide an opportunity to take a look at the bigger picture. Maybe I’ve been extremely lucky in my short career to work with amazing founders that don’t run bad board meetings or maybe the nature of earlier stage board meetings just suit my style, but the truth is I have found that I really enjoy them.

I came out of a board meeting last week feeling energized and ready to take on the world. It wasn’t because the company is a rocket ship or about to become a unicorn (though they are doing very well); it was because we spent the majority of the time tackling tough, strategic issues. We walked through decisions that will have a material impact on the company. Things that the CEO has put real thought into and wanted feedback or help with. The CEO was thoughtful and prepared, which made me that much more excited to help him through his questions. And by the end there was a plan to execute against. Did we make the right decisions? Who knows. But I walked out ready to run through a brick wall to help us achieve those goals.

That’s why I love this job. It’s a privilege to work with those founders.

--

--

Brett Munster
Road Less Ventured

entrepreneur turned fledgling investor. baseball player turned aspiring golfer. wine, food and venture enthusiast.