After Race Report: 2020 Arizona Rock ’n’ Roll Half-Marathon

My experience running the 2020 Arizona Rock ’n’ Roll Half-Marathon!

Robert Sanders
Roadrunner Robert

--

Preparing to start the Half-Marathon!

About the Race

In case you have never heard about the Rock ’n’ Roll Marathon Series, its a racing series of road races organized by the IRONMAN Group. The races are put on all over the world, including the US, Mexico, and Spain just to name a few. The series offers options for everyone, including a 5k, 10k, Half-Marathon and Full Marathon. The main draw of the race series is that it is known to line the racing routes with live rock bands, cheerleaders and themed water stations. The live music is exactly what drew me to this race!

My first experience with the race was actually from being stuck in traffic a few years ago caused by the race and wondering “what the f*** is the hold-up” :). After seeing the race going on, I went on to learn more about the race and the name stuck in my head. Once it was time for me to try my hand at the Mesa-Phoenix Marathon, I was in the midst of searching for a Half-Marathon I could run before the race as a tune-up. The Rock ’n’ Roll Half-Marathon caught my eye. It was 3 weeks out from the Marathon which was perfect and was an extremely unique race.

My Goal

--

--

Robert Sanders
Roadrunner Robert

Senior AVP of Data Management for EXL Services | Marathon Runner | Triathlete | Endurance Athlete