Honoring my Mother at the 2019 Capital City 5k

A 5k Run/Walk to sponsored by the National Kidney Foundation of Wisconsin to raise awareness for the importance of Organ and Tissue Donation

Robert Sanders
Roadrunner Robert

--

Team Angel Mama in front of the Captial Building in Madison, Wisconsin

I can hardly believe it’s been a little over 9 months since my mother passed away. That same feeling of missing a part of myself still haunts me throughout everything I do. That feeling of missing her. The only sense of comfort that my family and I drew from that whole tragedy, was knowing that our Angel Mama (term of endearment for my mother) was able to donate her organs and tissue to recipients in need. People constantly living in a state of pain and uneasiness that any day might be their last. Even in the end, our Angel gave! As a result, my family gained a common cause: spreading the message of the importance of Organ and Tissue Donation.

Honoring Angel Mama

As the months went by since her tragic passing, my family and I did whatever we could to honor our Angel Mama. Things like wearing our Donate Life pins at conferences, social media posts, starting and promoting fundraisers and so more. One of my sisters even took the message to a national stage! Using her speaking platform in the Dental Hygiene field to put together a talk on our Angel and the importance of…

--

--

Robert Sanders
Roadrunner Robert

Senior AVP of Data Management for EXL Services | Marathon Runner | Triathlete | Endurance Athlete