Lessons from an Injured Runner

What I learned about myself and life after my first Major Injury

Robert Sanders
Roadrunner Robert

--

Image: Physicalliving.com from the article: “Building Blocks of Becoming a Strong Resilient Runner”. Click here for the article.

I have three months left of training before my first full marathon, I thought as I laced up my running shoes on a Monday night. The day before I had finished my first 2-hour continuous run as apart of my usual Sunday morning distance run and my legs were still sore. But there was no time to rest! I had to keep going.

I considered myself a great runner. Ever since I was a child, I ran in some way shape or form. Whether it be on a field, playing Soccer or Football, or on a Track. With that, I had high expectations of myself. I wanted to prove this belief to be true. So I started training to try to get one of the biggest accomplishments a runner can get: a BQ (Boston Qualifying) Time. But…I wanted to do it on my first full marathon! Only 10% of people can even do it in the US, let alone on their first try.

I had already come so far. I spent 2 years just to get to this point. I started running 5k’s, promoted myself to 10k’s, then pushed myself further to running half marathons. Each new obstacle I pit myself against I conquered. My sights were now set on my next big challenge. I just had to train myself to run longer and faster than I had ever done before. Simple enough right?

--

--

Robert Sanders
Roadrunner Robert

Senior AVP of Data Management for EXL Services | Marathon Runner | Triathlete | Endurance Athlete