The 5 Alfas I’d love most to own

I admit I have a (very) soft spot for Alfa Romeos. So much so that I’ve written books about obscure Alfa models few really care about. However, there are some Alfas I’d rather own over others, and these are the top five Alfa models I’d love to own… Either individually or as a collection.

Matteo Licata
Roadster Life
Published in
4 min readAug 29, 2021

--

alfa romeo museum
Who said cars can’t be considered “art”? (picture from the Author)

GT Junior Zagato

In my view, the Junior Zagato still is an underrated design. It was based on the Spider floorpan and running gear, but it might as well be made from Kryptonite, given how far ahead of its time Ercole Spada’s design was.

Gone was the GT Junior or the Spider’s grace and elegance, substituted by almost brutal functionality. The Zagato’s sharp wedge profile, from the concealed wiper mounts to the abruptly cut-off rear end, it’s a tribute to the gods of aerodynamics and speed.

alfa romeo museum
Handsome, rather than pretty (picture from the Author)

Last but not least, I love the exquisitely minimalistic way the traditional Alfa “scudetto” gets resolved: it simply is a cut-out in the plexiglass that covers the four…

--

--

Matteo Licata
Roadster Life

I’ve been obsessed with cars for as long as I remember and, after working in automobile design for a decade, now I’m a lecturer, a published author, a YouTuber