Finding Magic in Sedona

Robert Baldwin
robertbaldwinwrites
3 min readJun 20, 2016

Some say that even the mountains in Sedona meditate.

My vocation led me down a seemingly altruistic career path: healthcare management. After working intensely for twelve years and doing all the things a young person is supposed to do I’m BURNT OUT.

I’ve had enough.

No, I’m not here to complain about a lackluster career of abundance. It’s just time to close that chapter of my life and accept a higher calling.

I haven’t felt like I’ve “helped people” in a really long time. And my rent in San Francisco just kept increasing. So, I did what any reasonable person would do. I sold all of my belongings and went on a road trip across America with my best friend, Josh.

Sedona stood out because of its dazzling beauty. I hear the name roughly translates to The Land Where New Enlightenment Grows.

When I mentioned my road trip to a few friends, Paula, Cory, and Jason each exclaimed how marvelous Sedona is. In their own ways, they demanded I see it.

There are mountains everywhere. The arid warm air is so comforting. It hugs your skin and welcomes you like and old friend.

We stayed at the Hilton Resort. It offers multiple pools, spa, and a nude sun deck. Inside, there’s a custom built-in stone whirlpool, sauna, steam room, and luxurious meditation center. The men’s and women’s areas are separate. It’s all very dark and pensive inside. Get your robe and get in there!

I spent a lot of time by the pool reading, ordering cocktails, and snacking on kale salad with wild blueberries and feta.

This Red Rock cocktail stole my heart.

Do you want to feel grounded? Sedona will awaken something within you. There’s this sacred air that flows through the canyons, around the juniper trees, and into your heart.

It’s so chill that I don’t want to share the experience. I’m hoping it will remain a secret and not get overrun.

The rock formations are always up close. You can access majestic mesas, great hiking spots, and mesmerizing views.

New agers tend to think Sedona has a cosmic connection, some spiritual energy in this place. I must agree. There’s something otherworldly about it all.

When you sit atop the Bell Rock, the suns flame, coupled with the true red sandstone makes you feel SO CONNECTED.

You can visit this divine locale on a budget. There are entire homes listed on AirBnB for $40 to $150 a night depending on what you need.

The resort food pricing leans on the mid-to-higher range, but there are happy hour deals and lot’s of economical choices downtown.

Worthwhile Things To Do

Visit Sedona. It’s Arizona’s hidden gem. If you want to feel awakened, grounded, centered, wise, or you just want to get away and see something new, get to it.

I’ll definitely be back.

--

--

Robert Baldwin
robertbaldwinwrites

Writer 👨‍💻 Sorcerer 🔮 Coach 🌷 “I AM the manager.” 🏳️‍🌈 Husband. Dog Dad. 🏔Opinions = mine.