Developer Spotlight: Meet AmazingAbs

Roblox Developer Relations
Developer Baseplate
5 min readApr 5, 2019

This week we were able to interview an amazing developer who has been around for almost 8 years and her passion for building structures in Roblox is still vibrant. We are talking about AmazingAbs! She is one of our most experienced builders whose creations have been enjoyed by countless Roblox players through her participation in events as important as the 2017 Halloween Event (which was visited by more than 2 million players) where she worked as a team leader and developer, and participated in the development of games like: ⭐Superhero ⚔️Simulator, which has reached more than 114k visits, and Freeze, with the impressive mark of more than 5 million visits. Even though she is only 19 years old, AmazingAbs has had more than enough time to find her spot in the Roblox developer community and is now one of the most recognizable builders on the platform.

What led you to become a builder in Roblox and how did your path as a developer began?

I used to build daily, any opportunity I got to build for groups, I started off doing the typical obbies (when those were a massive thing) and then started developing schools. It wasn’t until the Hallow’s Eve event in 2017 that I decided to make Roblox a career and continue to make games on the platform.

I have worked for and with plenty of developers, completing commissions or even giving feedback. At first, it was just for fun but now it has turned into a passion — I’m developing all the time, completing maps and commissions for other developers whilst balancing other commitments. It’s a huge passion of mine and I’d love to continue doing what I love by turning it into a career, that doesn’t actually feel like “work”.

How do you manage to create such amazing architectural designs, and can you share with us some of your building preferences?

I look around for inspiration, usually online images or such and find the style I’m looking for, to implement it into Studio. I like to focus on the themes of cartoon/low poly, modern and sometimes medieval too. To be honest, seeing other developers creations via Twitter really inspires me to construct builds. These include developers such as TrustMeImRussian, Beeism, Black_Smith, HolidayPwner and many others!

I 100% prefer to use modern architecture when constructing a city. I love to create cities using SmoothPlastic, sometimes Glass.

I mainly construct urbanizations on flat surfaces, I’m not very good when it comes to building on irregular surfaces.

Although I like to stick to low poly/cartoon style builds, I do like to try and use different methods in order to create the most realistic scene as possible. It depends entirely on the theme or scene of the game but personally, I do like to use bright colors with the use of white and grey.

Which one of your builds has represented the biggest challenge?

Hallow’s Eve was by far the most challenging, working with a team to create an event that will be played by all age ranges of the community, catering for all their different likes/dislikes etc. But it was an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend it!

This event was extremely successful and enjoyed by more than 2 million players as described before. This experience was specially developed for Halloween 2017, but the good news is that you can still play it today and enjoy the amazing work of top tier developers like Abbie.

How was your experience at RDC?

RDC 2017 was absolutely amazing. The whole experience, meeting developers in real life, meeting the staff, having an insight as to what Roblox’s plans were and what they were implementing into Studio to help developers, like myself, create outstanding video games for all to play.

How has Roblox impacted your life and what advice would you give to new developers?

Roblox has had a huge impact on my life within the last year, from turning “just for fun” into a passion and career. I hope one day I can achieve the goals that most developers are now achieving.

I would encourage any new developers joining the platform to create whatever you wish. If you would like to turn your passion into a career, do it. You can achieve whatever you like.

Big thanks to AmazingAbs for working with us and making this Developer Spotlight possible, I am sure you will continue growing inside the community and remain as one of the best! If you want to stay informed about her latest work and future projects, I highly recommend that you follow her on Twitter and Roblox as she is working on three games at the moment, two of which will hopefully be released within the next few weeks.

New to Roblox Development? Join millions of developers in Roblox Studio and make your first game with help from this page on getting started.

--

--

Roblox Developer Relations
Developer Baseplate

Empowering Roblox developers and creators to bring their imagination to life.