An Exploration Into Papers With Code

Add A New Dimension To Your Photos Using Python

Breathe New Life Into Your Photos With A 3D Ken Burns Effect

Dylan Roy
Robot Academy
Published in
6 min readNov 19, 2020

--

Image by Author

Some Backstory

After looking through some photos from a recent camping trip that I had taken a couple of weeks ago. I decided to take some of my old vacation photos, and turn them into a slideshow with some Python. Don’t worry I undertook this endeavor with the understanding that Google Photos, and the Apple equivalent do this really well already. This was really just intended to feed my addiction to building out side projects.

When looking through the available options I stumbled across a paper with some code that would take your photos, and add a transition that applies a 3D Ken Burns Effect to your photos. The Ken Burns Effect gets the 3D aspect for free with video obviously, but is less compelling with photos due to that missing dimension. So in the following write up I am hoping to set you up to be able to try, and add this extra dimension to your photos as I was able to.

Concepts

Here are some concepts that are worth knowing due to their relevance in what we are looking to achieve. Though we don’t need to be aware of this the AI models are applying the 3D…

--

--

Dylan Roy
Robot Academy

Engineer & Side Project Junkie sharing what I am working on so readers like you can benefit from my experiences. Subscribe here for even more (dylanroy.com)