Should managers talk to their teams about savings and retirement planning?

Rob Cahill
Rob the Manager
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2017

I get questions around savings and retirement occasionally from my team because savings, 401Ks, insurance, buying a home, etc, tie in with our jobs and compensation. How to handle these questions speaks to our obligation for the lives of people on our teams. It also reminds me of the concept of “first, do no harm.

I’ve read (listened to) a number of books on how to save and invest for retirement:

These books show that most people (including myself) make lots of painful mistakes in their savings and investments:

  • Lack of a specific retirement goal to work backwards from
  • Waiting too long to save
  • High fees
  • Bad, dishonest, or conflicted financial advisors
  • Active trading
  • Trying to time the market
  • Putting your savings in cash
  • Selling low and buying high (e.g., the market goes way down, you get scared, you shift your savings in cash instead of stocks, you miss out as the market shoots back up)

So many people make these mistakes, robbing them of a more comfortable retirement. The question I wrestle with is: Should I tell my team what I learned so they don’t make the same mistakes? What if they ask directly about savings or retirement?

As a manager, you have so much influence on your direct reports’ work and even their lives. You want the best for them, often very deeply.

My conclusion: Avoid advising your team about money. Even though I read some books, I’m not an expert in wealth management. I’m not a certified financial planner or an estate lawyer. Nether are you. It’s easy to give good-sounding advice that puts people on the wrong track and sets them back a lot money. First, do no harm.

Should you recommend books? That can be okay, as long as you provide a broad selection of books (as shared above) to offer a diversity of perspectives that can hopefully overcome your own bias.

Should you even recommend saving for retirement in the abstract? That’s probably okay, especially if it sparks curiosity and learning for your team members. But make sure you don’t start advising on how to do it.

What do you think? How should you talk with your team about retirement planning?

Need to develop great managers at your company? Learn about Jhana’s bite-sized learning and training for managers at www.jhana.com.

--

--

Rob Cahill
Rob the Manager

I write about leadership and the future. Founder/CEO at Jhana, VP at FranklinCovey. Formerly McKinsey, Sunrun, Stanford.