5 steps to become a UI/UX designer in a day

Look like an expert when you’re just a beginner

Nabeel
Lunchbox Technologies
4 min readJul 6, 2018

--

I was a pre-med dropout that somehow ended up becoming the CMO of a multi-million dollar restaurant group.

How did I do it? Well, working my way to the top was one thing, but I believe there is a skillset for being successful. For me, this set included deconstructing projects backwards to understand the fundamentals.

The rapidly changing world of marketing is constantly developing new principles and guidelines. With that in mind, here are some steps to give you direction as your starting your career as a UI/UX designer.

1. Photoshop or Sketch

The short answer is, download Sketch now. You can’t teach an old dog new tricks, and UI is very much still new. Sketch was designed specifcally for web and mobile design development.

I could come up with a million reasons why I’d prefer Sketch over Photoshop for my UI design work. My favorite reasons are that you can directly prototype on the canvas, mirror it to your phone to see what your new designs look like, and don’t forget group resizing.

Try it out, and then you’ll be able to enjoy my advice #2.

2. Start using sketchappsources.com

Sketch App Sources is one of my favorite websites to find UI materials. Not to mention, everything is absolutely free!

They have web/mobile UI kits. But more importantly they have logos, color schemes and wireframes. The more you work with these assets, the more you will be able to understand the “principles” of UI design and how they differ between Android, iOS and Web.

I suggest you go there right now and download a bunch of wireframes and go nuts. Make things you like, you cannot go wrong!

3. Recreate apps, but make them better

I completely left out the single best reason to use sketchappsources.com. You can download assets to either recreate famous apps, or take a pre-made app and break it apart!

Download this Twitter for Android resource and envision a new dark theme. Or take this Instagram UI Kit and see if you can make a better photo app.

The takeaway here is there is absolutely no need to reinvent the wheel.

Take what you can, reuse it, and only design from scratch if you have to.

Maybe your friend has an app idea; challenge yourself to make it. Remember, everything is a remix. Here is a Tinder web version that my friends at Rocket & Mouse recently recycled:

4. Icons + graphics

From my experience in UI designing, I have realized that it’s:

  • 70% redesigning
  • 20% creating things from scratch (can’t help you there)
  • 10% swapping out icons + graphics

I scout sites for graphics + icons to make an app that feels like my own. In fact, you can find entire families of icons. If you are a graphic designer who is moving into UI/UX, you should make a brand book and then start.

5. Now, learn the fundamentals

Shortcuts will only take you so far. If you want to get paid, you’ll also need to explain what you are doing and why you are doing it.

Now that you are a decent UI designer, it’s time to go back and learn the fundamentals. Nicole Saidy created a wonderful 7 step with more traditional UI/UX techniques. Read it!

Most designers who are beginners know what looks good (they have good taste), but don’t know where or how to start. With the tools I have shared with you, I hope you can slowly but surely make something that is your own. Here are some words from Ira Glass to live by:

--

--

Nabeel
Lunchbox Technologies

ceo & co-founder @lunchboxtech / former cmo @bareburger / immigrant