Massage Therapists Learning Anatomy and Physiology With Rocketbook by Jennifer Tansley

Maggie Robbins
Rocketbook For Educators
3 min readApr 11, 2019
Jennifer Tansley, RMT

I am a Registered Massage Therapist, Artist, and Author that teaches aspiring Massage Therapists Anatomy and Physiology. I have had huge success preparing for my lessons with Rocketbook.

You can imagine that I have a not-so-very unique experience of generating content for adult students in today’s inclusive and distracting College classrooms. Massage students, in particular, thrive in an interactive learning environment. Having been provided powerpoint presentations with a whiteboard and projector was effective at generating a chorus of snores within minutes of hitting the power button and turning out the lights. My lessons were not the interactive learning experience that I had envisioned.

Putting my projector away, I invested in a colorful set of whiteboard markers. At home, I used erasable gel ink, pencil and paper to practice before I used the whiteboard provided at school to map out the more complicated learning processes, such as ‘sliding filament theory’. My 15 students grasped these concepts much quicker and deeper than I could have anticipated. I also discovered that I enjoyed this medium of teaching much more as it blended my creative and scientific teaching style.

The problem with this is that it took me a lot of class time to draw out these lessons and students would try to take photos of my whiteboard anatomy art with their camera phones without ever actually capturing the beautiful lesson I created. I would work smarter not harder if I could project my practice lessons directly to my whiteboard and make my in class performance shorter and less…well exhausting, to be honest. My students’ eagerness to learn blankets the classroom in anticipation every time I turn off the lights and share my Rocketbook art projections on my classroom whiteboard. I barely have to whisper ‘Draw with me,” before they attempt their own sketch note creations in their old fashioned paper notebooks.

Effortlessly, I can share my practice preparations notes with them via email or post them on our class page and calendar. If I could envision the perfect classroom, every educator and student would have invested in a Rocketbook to share ideas! It is a pretty inexpensive but fun way to blend tried and true skills for learning such as notetaking with the benefits of technology. A simple cell phone that can be a tool that distracts even adult students from their studies, can also be used as an effective educational tool.

The ways Rocketbook could be incorporated into inclusive classrooms with students of all ages is only limited to your imagination. For creative and passionate educators, Rocketbook bridges the gap between passion and effort when generating interactive classroom experiences with our diverse students. Complex ideas become creative expressions when intuitive technology makes the classroom experience fun and easy to share.

Jennifer Tansley, RMT

Registered Massage Therapist

Massage Therapy Educator

Artist — Author — Science Nerd

--

--

Maggie Robbins
Rocketbook For Educators

Education Advisor for Rocketbook — Middle School STEM Teacher