Apoorva Joshi — Yamaha Sub Dealer & 2-wheeler Servicing Center Owner

Amit Savargaonkar
RocketCEO
Published in
3 min readMar 17, 2019

Greetings from RocketCEO : Stories of Zero to One. We are a digital business magazine for Entrepreneurs and Startups, where we interview inspiring CEOs and Founders who have taken a leap from Zero to One and tell their stories to the entire world.

Recently we got an opportunity to interview Apoorva Joshi — Yamaha Sub Dealer & 2-wheeler Servicing Center Owner and below is the essence of the same, an incredible journey towards success.

Apoorva Joshi — Yamaha Sub Dealer & 2-wheeler Servicing Center Owner

Interviewer: What service(s) or product(s) does your business offer/manufacture?

We are Yamaha Sub dealer in Karvenagar, Pune. Since the last 10 years, we are selling, servicing and providing spares to Yamaha 2-wheelers. We also offer to repair services to other types of two-wheelers.

We also deal in tires and tubes of two-wheelers and all types of automobile batteries. We also are authorized dealer for Exide battery. Moreover, I also provide kitchen trolleys and allied furniture. I have one shop at Bavdhan.

Interviewer: In which cities/countries you are providing services or operating your business?

Karvenagar, Pune (India).

Interviewer: What is your background? What you were doing before you got into the entrepreneurship?

I inherited this business from my father, Mr. Omkar Joshi. He started this business in 1988. Unfortunately, on 4th Sept 2013, he died suddenly due to a heart attack. Then I left my job and continued this business. Working with him and working without him, later one is difficult.

When he was alive I never imagined that I would be running this business one day. But here I am it has been more than 5 years I am running this business.

Interviewer: How did you get your idea or concept for the business? What made you work on that idea or concept?

My father’s legacy. He created the base for Yamaha in Karvenagar. And very much the support of my staff and my mother.

Interviewer: What is the unique selling/buying point about your business? How do you manage to deal with your competitors?

Trust of customers developed over the years. We always try and help the customer until his satisfaction.

Interviewer: How do you advertise your business?

Practically, I have not given a single advertisement in the last 6 months. I only maintain a Google My Business page for my location.

Interviewer: What do you look for in an employee?

Complete faith in the work or job in hand. Understanding of “2 Wheelers”.

Interviewer: Have you ever turned down a client? Why?

Many times. Since I work in the service industry, many customers have asked for favors in the name of my father. I have denied them then and there. Many customers nowadays try and get an undue advantage, and act as if they are innocent, my staff is always at toes to tackle such situations.

Interviewer: Who is your inspiration idol in life? Why?

No one. Frankly, I am here because of my fortune. I wanted to pursue the different field and I am not in that field.

Interviewer: How do you maintain balance with your family and business? Do you think if you were not in business, you would have been able to give more time to your family?

The answer to this question is not very much positive. I have never thought of family time till the time I got married. But now also I have Wednesday off and my wife have Saturday and Sunday off, but we manage somehow.

My mother is remarried now and I do not consider others like family members, they are not worth my time.

Interviewer: What do you call “Success”? What are those things which you think made you successful today?

Peace of mind at the end of the day without alcohol. How much money do you earn? How much attention do you get? All doesn't matter unless you have peace of mind.

Interviewer: If you had one piece of advice or an important lesson to someone just starting out, what would it be?

If you do not want to go until the end, do not start. It’s all about choice.

Anything else you would like to convey us about yourself or your business?

Not as such but would love to answer all the questions anybody has.

RocketCEO is a copyrighted brand created, developed and marketed by Pineapple Group. If you want us to interview you, contact us at info@pineapplegroup.com.

--

--

Amit Savargaonkar
RocketCEO

I am a Human, Entrepreneur, Blockchain Enthusiast, Educator and Storyteller. Know more about me here — https://pingocard.com/amit