Why You Should STOP Sending Email Attachments NOW!
Not long ago someone close to me was dismissed from job for mistakenly attaching the wrong file containing sensitive company information to an email that was sent to a group of recipients. Sure it was a simple mistake but it was one that cost him his job and put the employer in the awkward position of explaining to the client what had been done.
Sure, mistakes like this happen every day and it seems like an innocent enough oversight to forgive and forget but, that’s not always how business works.
Why Sending Links Are Better Than Sending Attachments
When Sending Larger Files
When you’re attaching files from your computer, you can only attach files up to 25 megabytes (MB) in size with Gmail and 20 MB with Outlook or 150 MB for Office 365 subscribers.
By inserting file links using Gmail from Drive, you can send a file up to 15 gigabytes (GB) and if you’re paying for a storage plan, you can send a file up to 1TB.
When Collaborating With Others
You might be used to sending attachments to collaborate on a project. For example, you might send your résumé to friends, family, or advisors to revise and comment on. However, this means you’ll likely end up with several versions of the document taking up space in your inbox — one from your friend, one from your family, and one from your advisor — that are difficult to keep straight.
By inserting a document using a link, you can avoid all that. Cloud services like Google Docs, Office 365, Dropbox Paper, Box, Quip, and others all let you see each other’s edits and comments in real time and any changes collaborators make to the file are immediately visible to the people you’ve shared it with, so there’s no need to reattach new versions of the file and send them out again.
By inserting links, you can also collaborate more efficiently on files. Everyone has access to the same content, including image, text, and video files that can be viewed using Google Drive viewer. You can even edit or use these files online.
When you send the message, Gmail checks to see if your recipients have access to the file and will prompt you to adjust the sharing settings on the file(s) you’ve inserted, if needed.
Read more and comment here
Originally published at rock ● paper ● mobile.