Rodchenko + Personality in Fonts

The font should be bold and loud, dark and heavy. It should be consistent with Constructivist fonts and Russian history.

Tiffany Jiang
Rodchenko Process
3 min readMar 1, 2016

--

My go-to website for fonts has been www.FontSquirrel.com. I skimmed through the pages of fonts they had for the categories below:

  • Square, bold, thick, slab serif, rough, contemporary, display and Russian

I’d open up a page, look at the example text and think, does this emulate Rodchenko’s personality and work? Is this bold enough? Does this have more of a negative connotation than a positive one? Does this look approachable?

A font like this one, known as Molot, would work really well. The name of the font refers to the Russian pump-action shotguns designed in 1999.

I’m really drawn to Slab Serifs for Rodchenko although I’m not sure why. I guess it’s because the traditional Serif fonts like Garamond or Georgia are way too formal and classic looking. Slab Serifs have a weight to them that really makes the titles and text stand strong on the page.

Finding the right Slab Serif is going to be difficult. Some of these I can look at and still feel like they’re too light to use for body text.

Some of these fonts are definitely not working out. They’re too flourished or loose looking. The font needs to feel heavy.

Palatino could work but I feel like it doesn’t give off as much energy as I’d like it to. Bebas Neue works but the only issue is that it’s always set in caps.

I guess I will go ahead and make my spreads for tomorrow in Bebas Neue + DIN Condensed and ask other people/Stacie for feedback.

I also tested another font called Encode Sans which also looks nice but I’m not sure about how round it is.

--

--

Tiffany Jiang
Rodchenko Process

designer concerned about our addiction to tech. thinking about ethics, films, futures, time, space and death. she/her. alum: @cmudesign @cmuhcii 👩🏻‍💻🏳️‍🌈♀️