If You Build It..I Will Read.

Michelle Taylor
RoebPOV
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2017
Pop Up Library Located At Tree Frog Trail

A Highland Cemetery Trail Has A New Library…

There is so much to enjoy in these tucked away nature trails. This time of year is the perfect time to hike and observe nature before it officially awakens. This last winter brought storms and wind. So the there are new trees that have fallen. The ponds and creeks are filling with fresh water. It is a tranquil setting right before the warm weather begins.

I stumbled upon the new library and thought, what a great idea! If you are looking for a quiet place to get away, but not drive for hours. This is your spot!

It’s hard to imagine feeling comfortable within a resting place for the dead, but it’s actually a perfect spot for peace and quiet.

Death has always just been a doorway to me. Cemeteries to me offer the same sort of sanctuary that a church would offer to worshipers. Nature dies and comes alive every year, what better place to observe that cycle.

Here are my notes upon hiking these trails:

They are not obvious.

I have been back here countless times and after doing some research found out that there are nine trails, my assistant tracker and I have only discovered three trails. Since reading the trail map, it’s more like two and half trails.

They aren’t all flat.

I fall a lot. No sense in hiding this fact. These trails are equipped with rock hopping, narrow paths, and an abundance of mud. My assistant constantly has to check on whether I’m still standing up. I have adopted a hiking stick in order to manage myself better.

They are cared for with love.

Often when walking a trail you will see a bench commemorating someone’s admiration for the trails. Sometimes it’s a deceased love one, sometimes it’s a group committed to caring for the trails. It helps to remind hikers of the sanctity that is nature.

They spark creativity.

I can’t escape my mind when I hike. If I need to process a problem, the trails are often how I manage to come to a creative solution. All too often I count on them to help me write.

--

--