Roger & IFTTT, a match made in the future

Starting today, you can do a lot more just by talking with your phone.

Yushu
Roger Talk
5 min readAug 9, 2016

--

If you’ve been following Roger for a while, you know how passionate we are about pushing the boundaries of voice technology. Since the launch of our Voice Platform a couple of months back, thousands of Roger users begun to explore how voice could enhance their lives, from the emotions of hearing their loved ones in their own tones and nuances, to the practicality of controlling their smart home appliances, with a simple voice command.

Today, we’re announcing another major milestone in making voice ubiquitous, with a little help from our friends at IFTTT:

IFTTT recipes now embed directly on 3rd party apps like Ring, Roger and Lifx

Roger now has a now whole suite of Recipes that are designed to help simplify your everyday life. Starting from the time you wake up to the time you return home, there are Recipes that are available at every stage.

“Roger is presented as a free, intuitive and simple voice messaging app but is actually built with advanced technology including speech recognition, access to Alexa without an Echo , and also the recently launched Live mode.”

Said Andreas Blixt, Cofounder & CTO of Roger.

“That’s the core principle behind all the IFTTT Recipes we have designed.”

We believe that in our increasingly connected world, getting more out of technology does not mean having to compromise on simplicity, and we’re on a mission to redesign the way people think about the power of voice-based technology.

As a member of the Roger team, I was lucky to experiment with all these Recipes over the past few weeks. Today, I will be sharing some of my favorite recipes and how they made my life a lot more exciting, productive and a whole lot easier! 😊 👍🏼

First, I make sure that I have enabled Live mode in Roger. This feature saves a lot of time by playing content automatically.

Once I’m in Live mode, all the IFTTT recipes and any other conversations that I have on Roger play automatically without me having to touch my phone at all.

Here’s my list of morning recipes:

While I’m getting ready, I also make sure to listen to my favorite Business Day and Health sections from the New York Times, and also prepare my list of conversation starters by listening to trending posts on Reddit.

If I have more questions, I can easily ask Amazon Alexa in Roger. Along the way, if a new email comes in, it will be played immediately . The Weather recipe tells me if I need to bring my umbrella out before I leave the house (a life saver!)

Here’s my list of essential recipes when I’m out and about:

When there’s something I have to remember when I’m outside, what I like to do is to quickly convert them to voice notes that will be automatically saved in Dropbox, so that I can refer to them anytime.

Before I enter the the subway station and lose connection, I can even quickly tweet with my voice (no 140 character limit for me!) with the Twitter recipe.

If I’m running late, I can very easily tell both my team via Roger and Slack at the same time, since the Slack recipe uploads all my rogers to Slack as well.

Slack: Roger’s IFTTT recipe

When I am working, efficient communication is very important. Previously, whenever there is someone out of the office. I would either email or Slack him but I often worried if that person ever read what I sent.

With Roger’s buzzing, real time listening and talking feedback as well as a reminder if the recipient has not listened within an hour, I can now work with much greater ease 👌🏻

Another tip is to make a Roger group for your entire team so that you no longer have to deal with the hassle of CC or BCC-ing another person in the team.

That’s our speech recognition feature right there!

After a long and tiring day at work, there’s nothing more relaxing than having a nice meal while enjoying the latest episode of my favorite show.

What I like to do is to connect my iPad (which already has Roger installed) to my BlueTooth speaker. Then, whenever someone I’m following has a new tweet or whenever someone mentions me on Twitter, Roger will read it out loud to me automatically (like an intercom!).

Last but not least, if I accidentally fall asleep on my bed without charging my phone, my low-battery recipe that I have included in my Roger group with my family will tell them when my phone’s battery goes below 15%. (That way, I know I can always count my Mom to give me a morning call the next day) 🙈

That’s how I have made my life a whole lot easier with those IFTTT recipes on Roger. Of course, those recipes mentioned are just my favorite ones, but there are many other IFTTT recipes such as Facebook, Evernote, Soundcloud, and more.

Download Roger 👉🏼 here👈🏼

--

--