In the Shadow of the Valley of Creativity

How facing the reality of where you are is the best way to improve.

Mike Rohde
Rohdesign
3 min readMar 8, 2017

--

Yesterday, at the end of a pretty good work day, I came across some superb design. I was inspired.

However, as sometimes happens, I began to feel a bit bummed out after the initial inspiration wore off. Actually, very bummed out.

Suddenly, the superb design I was once appreciating made my own design seem old and crusty—behind the curve.

Welcome to the Valley of Creativity

Over the years as a designer, I’ve found this roller coaster ride a regular cycle. Sometimes good creative work inspires me, then causes me to question and compare my own design work.

I call the second phase of this cycle the valley of creativity, because it literally feels like I’m down in a dark valley. It’s not a pleasant place to be.

I shared my feelings about being the valley with my wife, and how sometimes it makes me consider giving up design to sell hot dogs from a pushcart, or maybe operate a jackhammer in a construction crew.

Even as these thoughts popped into my head, I could see that they were crazy. I love being a designer.

Escaping the Valley

Fortunately, the valley stage gives way eventually. Ssometimes in minutes, other times in hours, occasionally in days. This is where I get energized.

This is where I rise to the challenge of inspiring design, by doing great design of my own. It’s a good place to be. I’m excited about creating and design once again.

In my design career, I’ve learned to see how important the valley of creativity is. In fact, it’s critical. You must go through it.

Going through the valley is a humbling process that forces me to honestly evaluate where I am, then opens the door to the next level.

Challenged to Creativity

Today, while I know there is still much to learn, my state is better than a year, 6 months, or even a few weeks ago.

I’m advancing with design experience by doing the work, learning from others, sketching, playing, and experimenting with new ideas.

Yes, there are opportunities to do better work and improve. That’s what I love about design — there is always another project to practice my craft in a new way.

Design is as much about the process as the result.

Is this cycle is common for other designers or other creative people? Most definitely. There is always a challenge to improve. The important thing is to not linger in the comparison phase of the valley, but to learn from it and move on to the other side.

We choose our path. We can give up, and stay at my same level, or rise to the challenge of even better creative work.

Choose to rise.

I’m the author of two bestselling books: The Sketchnote Handbook and
The Sketchnote Workbook, which teach you how to create sketchnotes, especially if you can’t draw. Check them out.

Follow me on Twitter, Instagram, or sign up for my monthly email newsletter of visual thinking, The Rohdesign Dispatch.

--

--

Mike Rohde
Rohdesign

Designer. Bestselling author of The Sketchnote Handbook The Sketchnote Workbook. Illustrator of REWORK, REMOTE, $100 Startup. Founder of Sketchnote Army.