Sketchnotes: One Year with an Apple Watch

Mike Rohde
Rohdesign
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2016

It’s been a year since I’ve started wearing an Apple Watch. Instead of a wordy review, I’ve captured my impressions as sketchnotes.

An Apple Watch sketchnote created wth the iPad Pro, Apple Pencil and Paper by FifityThree.

The latest sketchnote happened when I sat down with my iPad Pro, Apple Pencil and Paper by 53 to capture what I love about the Apple Watch.

Initial Apple Watch Sketchnotes

Here are my sketchnotes created as I first started to wear the Apple Watch:

Opening experience and initial observations of the Apple Watch.
More initial observations of the Apple Watch.

Apple Watch Sketchnotes: 5 months in

Here are sketchnotes created after I’d worn the Apple Watch for a 5 months:

My APple Watch observations after 5 months of daily use.

My impressions after one year

It’s a very handy tool that makes friction spots in my life go a little more smoothly. Overall, I quite like it, despite the flaws.

Native Apple apps and functions work best (notifications, maps, step tracking, timers, weather, Siri, phone calls, and workout tracking).

3rd party apps are really slow, though some like Sleep++ or the Starbucks app aren’t as hampered by the Watch’s slowness—probably by design.

For all of my Apple Watch sketchnotes, see my Flickr Album.

Subscribe to the Rohdesign Dispatch!

Every 2 weeks I send out an email newsletter with my latest thinking around sketchnotes, along with interesting links on visual thinking and drawing.

You’ll get 3 free chapters and 1 free worksheet from my two bestselling books, The Sketchnote Handbook and Sketchnote Workbook, just for signing up!

Subscribe to the Dispatch!

--

--

Mike Rohde
Rohdesign

Designer. Bestselling author of The Sketchnote Handbook The Sketchnote Workbook. Illustrator of REWORK, REMOTE, $100 Startup. Founder of Sketchnote Army.