Deaf Culture and the Debate Over Cochlear Implants

Fallon Marie
Roll with Me Publications
7 min readFeb 25, 2022

--

Video Credit: YouTube.

Author’s Note: We are nearing the end of my disability in education series, and Psychology of Individuals of Different and Special Needs class. In my last formal paper for the class, I discuss Deaf culture, the debate over Cochlear Implants, and my perspective growing up around d/Deaf people. In this context, little “d” deaf denotes that a person is deaf. Big “D” Deaf refers to both a fact about a person and a distinct cultural identity. Ex: Marlee Matlin is Deaf. My dad is half deaf.

Prompt: What is meant by the term “deaf culture”?

Should “deaf culture” be considered a separate culture? Why or why not?

What is your opinion on deaf culture’s arguments against cochlear implants? Do you think the arguments are valid?

Finally, what would you do if you were in the position to make the choice about cochlear implants for yourself or your child?

I am a hearing person. However, I went to a preschool geared toward disabled children for a year that provided therapies and other vital services to its students in addition to “typical” preschool activities. At this school, we were grouped by age and ability. Given that I was…

--

--

Fallon Marie
Roll with Me Publications

She/her ♿️🇺🇸🏳️‍🌈🤘🏻🦋✝️If you can’t stand up, stand out Writer, cat mom, future therapist, Disney nerd. advocate Hebrews 4:15-16.