“Medicating Kids” Documentary and ADHD

Fallon Marie
Roll with Me Publications
3 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

Author’s Note: This is a continuation of my series on disability in education, per my “Psychology of Individuals with Differing and Special Needs” class. Last week, we were assigned a late 90's-early 2000’s PBS documentary that called the existence of ADHD into question. As someone with ADHD, I found this infuriating.

Medicating Kids

Prompt: After watching the Frontline Video Medicating Kids, provide your own perspectives regarding the issue of using psychotropic medications to treat ADHD (and/or EBD) in children and adolescents. Should we medicate children and, if so, under what conditions? What factors need to be taken into account when considering this type of therapy approach?

This is how today went. I woke up at 11. Today, I’m in the midst of a chronic pain flare, so I laid in bed under my heated blanket for a bit while on the phone with my parents. I went to the bathroom, where I very carefully changed clothes (because it’s winter and I’m in pain 24/7.) Then, I went to the kitchen where I “attempted” to start my homework. I started the documentary and quickly became frustrated and bored because these people ACTUALLY SAID, “Psychiatry is not a science.” Excuse you! Psychiatrists go to undergraduate, graduate, AND medical…

--

--

Fallon Marie
Roll with Me Publications

She/her ♿️🇺🇸🏳️‍🌈🤘🏻🦋✝️If you can’t stand up, stand out Writer, cat mom, future therapist, Disney nerd. advocate Hebrews 4:15-16.