Am I a Fake Artist ?

Romin Irani
Romin Irani’s Blog
2 min readFeb 15, 2023

I have used ChatGPT to a certain extent to get answers to both routine programming tasks and general knowledge stuff. I am not here to discuss the technology behind it and whether it is ready or not. I am confident that eventually we will navigate through this, find the right use cases and let things balance out accordingly

I am here to discuss a a comment on a LinkedIn thread by Quentin Hardy, Head of Editorial @ Google Cloud. The thread was discussing the issue around how ChatGPT seems to be give answers that are wrong/made up, etc but acts quite confident when giving them out.

The comment kept ringing in my head and provided food for thought is reproduced below.

The comment is both a reflection of the world that we live in and if you have been observant, one has seen instances of individuals behaving in the same manner that we are now seeing ChatGPT give us answers.

How many times have we come across this culture? As an example, think of individuals that you have come across that we felt did not have their feet on the ground, had no idea of what it means to get things to work, completely disconnected with the real world or ground realities but yet speaking in such a polished way that any outsider would get impressed.

It begs the question that we must be cautious, have a healthy dose of skepticism and keep evaluating our options.

But who am I to make these comments? Am I also a fake person who is acting confident, taking a stand and pretending that I understand how things should be? Am I even qualified to take a stand on this topic? Use your judgement … its your call in the end.

--

--

Romin Irani
Romin Irani’s Blog

My passion is to help developers succeed. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯