Employee Spotlight: Aaron Childs

Rook Security
SECOPS
Published in
4 min readAug 6, 2015
aaron

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.

Name: Aaron Childs
Title: Marketing Intern
Time at Rook: Three months
Current City & Hometown: Indianapolis

Before working at Rook Security, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had? I was a medic in the US Army where I also became a registered EMT. I was responsible for saving the life of another injured soldier if injury should occur. I was also responsible for many things people go to the doctor for (sick, medicines, etc…). Though the best part of the job was sticking squirmy people with needles when they needed a shot or to have their blood taken. I can have a dark sense of humor sometimes. But just being in the military was an experience in itself. I met some of the craziest, weirdest, most motivated, and extraordinary people during my time enlisted who I still call my friends to this day.

What do you like to do in your spare time? You can find me either working out, watching sports, or playing way too much FIFA on Playstation. Like way too much. I think I have a problem. Send help.

Best vacation you’ve been on? I visited the Grand Canyon once. It was brief and I didn’t get to do all that I wanted but it was incredible. You can read about it or see pictures of it but to experience it first hand was unforgettable. I sneakily hopped over a security fence and walked along the edge of the canyon when no one was around. It makes your heart race being so close to the edge.

What TV show/movie are you ashamed to admit you love? Mean Girls. If you don’t like Mean Girls then you’re wrong. I once had to write a ten page paper over that movie in college. The paper was awful and I somehow managed to talk my professor into giving me a B- but at least I got to watch Mean Girls in class. Also pre-drug Lindsay Lohan was ❤.

If Hollywood made a movie about your life, who would you like to see cast as you? Tom Cruise. Tom Cruise is the man. Tom Cruise is an American hero. Tom Cruise once saved the world and then showed Cuba Gooding Jr the money. Also he did that one movie with jets.

What is the best concert you attended? Oh this is easy. FOO FIGHTERS! I have never fangirled so hard in my life as when I was at their concert. I screamed so much I lost my voice. Seriously I was like a middle school girl at a One Direction concert. I seriously believe there aren’t many rock bands left that are larger than life and Foo Fighters is one of them. Hearing Dave Grohl serenade me with “Everlong” and then scream out “Best of You” was orgasmic. But also Incubus is a close second.

What is your favorite sport/team/athlete? GLORY GLORY MAN UNITED! The Red Devils of Manchester consume my life. I wake up early every weekend during the season to see them play. I can be crazy obsessed about them and get overly passionate at times. My dream, at the very least, is to take an extended vacation to England and go see them play at Old Trafford. I want to lift my Manchester United scarf and chant all night long with the other supporters. And of course I must give a shout out to the Indiana Pacers. I rarely miss a game and would just die of happiness should they win the NBA Finals.

If you had to eat one meal, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be? Fried chicken, sweet potato fries, baked mac n’ cheese, collard greens, cornbread, and apple pie. Is this unhealthy? Yes. Will I gain a million pounds? Yes. Do I care? No. I will die a good death surrounded by southern fried perfection.

What is the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery? I would instantly pay off all my student loans. Next I would invest in some organization that becomes the next big tech company. Then I would sell off all my investments and use my respectable wealth to get in good with influential politicians. Once I have their loyalty, I maneuver that political system in my favor to gain control. The last step, once I am in power, is to put a permanent ban on country music thus doing the nation and the world a service. You’re welcome.

Do you have any hidden talents? I can see why kids love the taste of cinnamon toast crunch.

--

--

Rook Security
SECOPS
Editor for

Global provider of IT security solutions protecting against dynamic, emerging threats. -- Inc. 500 Company in 2014.