Employee Spotlight: Dan Ford

Rook Security
SECOPS
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2015
danford

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.

Name: Dan Ford
Title: Security Engineer/Forensic Analyst
Time at Rook: >1 year full time & 2 years as an intern
Current City: Carmel, IN
Hometown: Indianapolis, IN
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/daniel-ford/47/67b/43a

What has been your favorite memory/achievement working at Rook Security? While working at Rook, I have made several tools that help our Advisory team during their pen tests. One of the tools that I am proud of is the long range RFID cloner, which will copy the RFID card that is on your person and then I can make my own card with the same credentials.

What is your favorite sport/team/athlete? My favorite sport is rowing. I rowed for 4 years at Purdue and made many lifelong friends through the sport.

Best vacation you’ve been on? Best vacation that I’ve been on was a trip I took with my family when I was in high school. We went to Marco Island in Florida and spent almost everyday on the beach.

If Hollywood made a movie about your life, who would you like to see cast as you? Chris Pratt would be the best person to play me. His personality is exactly like mine and I can be just as goofy as he is.

If you could meet anyone in the world, dead or alive, who would it be and why? Stephen Hawkins. He is incredible and his theories about wormholes and the space time continuum are awesome to read about.

If you had to eat one meal, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be? Pizza. There are so many choices with pizza and who doesn’t like pizza?!

What did you want to be when growing up? I wanted to be an astrophysicists. I love talking about space and discussing theories about our universe.

What book are you currently reading? I am currently reading “The Boys in the Boat”. It is a great book about the history of rowing in the United States and shows the hardships that people had to go through in the early 1920s.

What is your biggest pet peeve? My biggest pet peeve is people not using their turn signals. They are there for a reason.

What is the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery? The first thing that I would buy is a house.

--

--

Rook Security
SECOPS
Editor for

Global provider of IT security solutions protecting against dynamic, emerging threats. -- Inc. 500 Company in 2014.