Employee Spotlight — Jason Acton

Rook Security
SECOPS
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2016

--

Rock Band Party

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.

The Basics

Name: Jason Acton

Title: Tactical Security Engineer

Time at Rook: 1 year, 1 month

Current City: Indianapolis

Hometown: Chicago

Before working at Rook Security, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had? Working at the RAM in downtown Indy, I was “contracted” for a day during GenCon to work as a “secret agent”, acting as an informant for individuals participating in a “treasure hunt” of sorts. Very unusual, but also very interesting.

What do you like to do in your spare time? I’m a big gamer. PS4 is where I spend most of my free time, playing Rocket League or other multiplayer games with friends. Otherwise, I’m usually tweaking my automation tools and management resources for my Plex Media Server.

Best vacation you’ve been on? Not sure it could be considered a true “vacation”, but I went overseas for 6 weeks during college to study abroad in London, Dublin, and Edinburgh. Best…time….e-vah!

What’s your favorite line from a movie? “Do, or do not. There is no ‘try’” — Yoda

What is the first concert you attended? Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in concert when I was about 13 and the movies came out. Pizza Power!!!!!!

If you could witness any historical event, what would you want to see? The extinction of the dinosaurs, circa ~65 million B.C. If it really was an asteroid impact around the Yucatan Peninsula, that would be one awesome sight to behold.

Where is your favorite local restaurant? Brozinni’s Pizzeria. It’s down south in Greenwood, and makes the best New York style pie I’ve ever had…and I lived in NY for a while, so that’s saying something!

Do you have any hidden talents? I like to sing and karaoke, but I wouldn’t exactly call those “hidden”.

What did you want to be when growing up? An X-Wing fighter pilot :-)

What is the biggest risk you have ever taken? Moving to New York City to pursue acting after graduating from ASU with a theatre degree. It ultimately didn’t pan out as I wasn’t passionate enough towards the craft to make it something I could do professionally, but I learned a lot about myself and, ultimately, the experience was definitely worthwhile.

--

--

Rook Security
SECOPS
Editor for

Global provider of IT security solutions protecting against dynamic, emerging threats. -- Inc. 500 Company in 2014.