Employee Spotlight — Jeremy Blazek

Rook Security
SECOPS
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2016

--

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.The Basics

Name: Jeremy Blazek

Title: Project Manager

Time at Rook: 2 years

Current City: Indianapolis, IN

Hometown: Avilla, IN

If you could switch with anyone else at Rook Security for a day, whose job would you want?

Mike Patterson. He always seems to have 500 different things going on at once, some more interesting than others. He lives in the finance and investment world at times and that is extremely interesting to me. I was an economics major in College and corporate finance was one of my favorite areas of concentration.

Do you recall any embarrassing moments at work?

One night, around midnight, I was working on laying floor in the entryway of the new side of the office. I was exhausted and trying to power through to get it done. I picked up one of the last pieces of flooring from outside the doors and proceeded to turn around and try to walk through a pane of glass. It didn’t go so well for me.

What is your family like?

They are pretty awesome. I am the middle child between an older brother and younger sister. My older brother works in genetics as a PhD level scientist and my sister is about to enter her first year of optometry school. In a few years, I will be the only child without a doctorate degree. My parents are very hard working and made sure that we inherited that trait as well, all while maintaining a good work/life balance and ensuring that we had a fun and rewarding childhood.

What’s your favorite thing to do in Indy?

There is an event every summer called Dig-In. It is a collection of over 100 restaurants and food purvayors from around the state offering bite size dishes from their respective farms/restaurants. It is an amazing event and I recommend trying it out at least once.

Best vacation you’ve been on?

I spent two weeks in London during my college days exploring the city. It was an amazing experience and my first time in Europe. I am exciting about going back and exploring more of the continent.

What’s your favorite line from a movie?

“I guess it comes down to a simple choice, really. Get busy living or get busy dying” Shawshank Redemption

What book did you read last?

Medium Raw by Anthony Bourdain. It is a pretty great food/travel book. Parts are definitely NSFW so be warned.

What is your favorite sport/team/athlete?

The Chicago Cubs. Hopefully this year all Cubs fans will be vindicated after a life full of disappointment.

If you could witness any historical event, what would you want to see?

The Wright Brothers first flight in Kitty Hawk, NC. It has to be so exhilarating seeing the glider fly for the first time, and to see the start of a completely new transportation method.

If you had to eat one meal, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Sushi. I am convinced that it is impossible for me to ever get bored with it.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?

It isn’t too crazy, but I did eat a scorpion that was inside of a sucker one time. It was pretty gross.

What did you want to be when growing up?

I have always wanted to be a pilot. When I was younger, I wanted to be a fighter pilot. I would watch Top Gun at least once a week. As I grew older and my eyesight got worse, I realized that an Airline Pilot would have to suffice. I never pursued that dream, but getting my pilots license is still on my to do list.

--

--

Rook Security
SECOPS
Editor for

Global provider of IT security solutions protecting against dynamic, emerging threats. -- Inc. 500 Company in 2014.