Employee Spotlight: Matt Pitchford

Rook Security
SECOPS
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2015
Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 8.55.49 AM

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.

Name: Matt Pitchford
Title: Sr. Director of Marketing
Time at Rook: 3 months
Current City: Westfield, IN
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/pitchford
Twitter: @mtpitch

Before working at Rook Security, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had? I had a promotions job right out of college working for Jim Beam. We would go to bars and pass out free swag and buy people shots of Beam. It was like you see in the movies when someone says, “Drinks are on me!” and then everyone is instantly your best friend. It was a lot of fun.

What is your family like? We love the salt life and being outdoors. My wife was raised in Florida, so we get there as often as we can to visit her family. We also do family camping and hiking trips. Some of the best ones have been with my son through the Boy Scouts — Philmont and Boundary Waters in particular.

What’s your favorite thing to do in Indy? I love the month of May in Indy. It’s the beginning of better weather, grilling season and of course the Indy 500. I’ve been to the 500 every year I’ve lived here and don’t plan on missing any in the future. There really is no other event like it and it’s right here in our city! If you haven’t been, what are you waiting for?

Best vacation you’ve been on? My sister moved to Colorado two years ago, so I used that as an excuse to get the whole family to go visit and ski. The kids loved it and took to the slopes pretty well. I learned that my 10 year old daughter is a natural dare devil who liked to shout “YoLo” as she jumped off of sketchy, homemade ramps.

What’s your favorite line from a movie? “You’re killing me, Smalls!” from the movie Sandlot.

What TV show/movie are you ashamed to admit you love? American Horror Story on FX. It’s very disturbing, but I love that even though the story completely changes each season, they use the same actors, but in different roles the next season.

What’s your favorite local brewery/beer/bar? Has to be my buddy’s brewery (opening in Fishers this spring), called Four Day Ray. He’s been home brewing for 20 years and has won many competitions. It doesn’t hurt that I get to sample the beers and provide my marketing viewpoint. It’s a win-win.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten? Jellied pig’s head while I was in Cologne, Germany. They take the parts and pieces from the pig’s head and put it in a gelatinous substance. It tasted like baloney.

What did you want to be when growing up? I really wanted to be an astronaut (and still do). But it wasn’t until college that I figured out I had a knack for public relations and then that lead into other marketing roles. But if I play my cards right, I may be able to pay for a trip to space someday. Fingers crossed.

What instrument do you play or want to play? The guitar. I never learned how to play any instrument, so I’ve made that a priority with my kids. My daughter took up several instruments including electric guitar. Now I live vicariously through her.

--

--

Rook Security
SECOPS
Editor for

Global provider of IT security solutions protecting against dynamic, emerging threats. -- Inc. 500 Company in 2014.