Employee Spotlight: Sunny Wu

Rook Security
SECOPS
Published in
4 min readAug 27, 2015
Sunny

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.

Name: Sunny Wu
Title/Role/Department: Accounting/Finance
Time at Rook: 8 month Internship + 7 month Full — Time
Current City: Indianapolis
Hometown: China
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/yangyi-sunny-wu/42/937/83a

Do you have an office nickname? Mulan. One time I called myself Mulan just to be funny. Now my co-workers start calling me Mulan Wu…

Do you recall any embarrassing moments at work? I was nominated as Intern of the Year, I felt so honored. then I found out that EVERY INTERN during that summer got nominated…..I should probably take those pictures down from my facebook…

If you could switch with anyone else at Rook Security for a day, whose job would you want? Mike Patterson. He has so many things going on, he lives in Chicago while the company is in Indianapolis. He is able to handle everything well. So I want to figure out how he makes that happen. More importantly I want to ride a Mega Bus! (joking…)

What is your family like? I looove my family. I am the only kid. My mom and dad are in China. Growing up they always provided me the best. My dad is a very smart guy and has a good sense of humor. He taught me to be a generous person. My mom is such sweet person and she took great care of me. I am very grateful. I also have an American family in California. They were my host family now they are my real family. I lived with them for a year, I picked up English by talking to them daily then I moved to Indiana, but we still talk to each other once a week at least and I visit them once in a while. More importantly, they changed my life, things I have learned from them are priceless.

When was the last time you laughed so hard you cried? I lived in Bloomington before I moved to Indy, so I commuted everyday at that time. One day I got home around 9 p.m, I was starving and exhausted. One of my roommates and my neighbor saw me through the window, they decided to scare me. When I walked in the door, one of them jumped out behind the door, I literally screamed so loud and I almost dropped my laptop. As I yelling at him, the other one jumped out behind the couch and I fell on the ground and started crying and laughing at the same time, they were on the ground laughing their heads off. My heart literally hurt a little, I got scared to a level that I had a mini heart attack…

Where else have you lived? I was born and grew up in China, then I moved to Washington state for a year, and transferred to Bloomington for college, now I am in Indianapolis.

What TV show/movie are you ashamed to admit you love? House Hunters. I love it. It is a grandma show I know but I just love it! There was a couple in the show looking for a home that allows them to have a photography studio too. They looked at an awesome loft style home that has everything and it is beyond awesome but they ended up choosing an old fire station that has nothing, literally nothing in it except walls that need work too. I was soooo upset. Couldn’t believe they let that awesome loft go and chose that abandon fire station….Still upset now I talk about it. lol

Do you have any hidden talents? I snowboard a little, but still a newbie. I also dabble a little bit on ukulele.

What is the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery? A house. House Hunters got me really into it…

If you could be anyone from any time period, who would it be and why? Okay, I am probably not answering this question right, but I really really want to be someone in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. If I could be a Gryffindor that would be so awesome! Being Harry Potter or Hermione is probably not a good idea. It would be way too easy for Voldemort to kill me. All he needs to do is jump out and scare me, and I would die from a heart attack. But I would still love to be a Gryffindor despite Voldemort’s attempt to get me.

--

--

Rook Security
SECOPS
Editor for

Global provider of IT security solutions protecting against dynamic, emerging threats. -- Inc. 500 Company in 2014.